2017 AFL New Zealand Academy selected

01 Dec, 2016

The athletes for the 2017 AFLNZ Academy have been announced by National Youth and Talent Identification Manager Mick Coultard. Academy athletes will participate in skill development, athletic testing and measurement, game play and personal development over a 9 week period.


From the Academy, New Zealand Hawks Academy and New Zealand Kahu Youth Girls teams will be selected consisting of 24 players each to play touring Australian teams. Eligibility for these teams can be found here:

New Zealand Hawks Academy Level 1

New Zealand Hawks Academy Level 2

New Zealand Kahu Youth Girls

Further opportunities arising from the AFL New Zealand Academy include, selection into New Zealand Hawks Academy teams, AFL New Zealand National Combine selection, access to talent scouts and AFL International Scholarships.

This squad boasts 115 players from 56 Schools across 5 regions in New Zealand and is the biggest Academy squad assembled since it’s inception.

Congratulations to all involved.

AFLNZ Academy 2017 - Youth Boys Level 1 & 2
Full NameRegion School
Aidan Christians Wellington Raroa Normal Intermediate
Aidan Anthony CollinsWaitakereMassey High School
Alexander KemptWellington St Brendans
Alvin GrantHarbour Northcote College
Angus PotakaWaitakereRutherford College
Argyle MorlingCountiesRosehill college
Bailee LaurensonWellington Fergusson Intermediate
Beren GoodwinWellington Raphael House
Bodhi Meek AucklandSelwyn College
Braithan AndersonCountiesPakuranga College
Brandon AbsalomWellington Wellington College
Brock FowlerCountiesPakuranga College
Bronson HewitsonWaitakere Avondale college
Brook RobsonHarbourWestlake Boys High School
Cameron GambleCanterburySt Bede's College
Cameron KerrPalmerston North Palmerston North Boys High School
Clayton Walters WaitakereGreen Bay High School
Connor DiackOtagoOtago Boys High School
Conrad PenderWellington Scots College
Couper JonesHarbour Long Bay College
Daniel HowieHarbour Takapuna Grammar School
David Stein Auckland Lynfield College
Declan CrannWaitakere Green Bay High School
Devin PullyblankCanterburyShirley Boys High School
Dom BrankinCanterburySt Bede's College
Douglas McJorrowWellington Scots College
Elliott Lim-HawkinsAucklandDilworth
Eruera Karl Potaka Croft Counties Te Wananga o Aotearoa
Ezra Vogel Auckland
Finn MoffatCanterburySt Bede's College
Flynn PrestonCanterburySt Bede's College
Freedom CollinsNorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
George Oakley HopkinsWellngtonHeretaunga College
Hari BelowWellington Fergusson Intermediate
Harry HansenOtagoOtago Boys High School
Harry UptonHarbour Takapuna Intermediate
Isaac PiperAucklandSt Peters College
Jackson HemmingsenHarbourWestlake Boys High School
Jacob BurriWaitakere Green Bay High School
Jacob TuckerHarbour Northcote College
James DakinAucklandWestern Springs College
Jaydn Che RobsonWellington Aotea College
Jerome GoodhueWaitakere Avondale college
Jevaan CroftCountiesAlfriston College
Joel Hetherington Harbour Kingsway
Jonah ChristiansWellington Scots College
Josh HookOtagoKavanagh College
Justin EvansCanterburySt Bede's College
Kalani FogaleleCanterburyShirley Boys High School
Kian Kake NorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Kuki WickliffeCanterburySt Bede's College
Kynan Stowers-SmithCanterburySt Bede's College
Levi BoydWaitakere Rutherford College
Levi WilsonHarbour Rosmini College
Lewis Barrow-YoungHarbour Northcote College
Lewis GillWellington Onslow College
Liam MayesHarbour Rosmini College
Liam NeilsonOtagoOtago Boys High School
Luke BuckleyHarbour Albany Junior High School
Luke MillerCountiesRosehill College
Luke WilliamsCountiesPakuranga College
Manny Snooks NorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Mark Komene-Stowers NorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Matt MunroCanterburySt Bede's College
Mau Kuonga TealeiWellington Porirua College
Max MilneOtagoOtago Boys High School
Michael IwashitaNorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Milo John CrispinWellington Wellington College
Mitchell HughanOtagoOtago Boys High School
Munro Harry Arthur ShortWellington Karori Normal School
Oliver BugdenOtagoOtago Boys High School
Oliver GriffinOtagoOtago Boys High School
Oliver ParsonsHarbourWestlake Boys High School
Quinn PocockAucklandWestern Springs College
Rico TuhuaWellington Fergusson Intermediate
Riki ShelfordNorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Ronan MorlingCountiesRosehill college
Ronan StephensonCanterburyShirley Boys High School
Ryan KlattCounties Rosehill college
Sam AndersonCanterburySt Bede's College
Sam MorganWellington Fergusson Intermediate
Sam WartonAucklandKristin
Taonga Stanish-Murphy NorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Thomas WoodwardWellington Scots College
Tom HackHarbour Murrays Bay Intermediate/Westlake boys
Tommy WilsonOtagoOtago Boys High School
Tyler DiackOtagoOtago Boys High School
Wade McNabbCountiesWaiau Pa
Will O'BrienHarbourRosmini College
William Kempt Wellington St Pats silverstream
William AndersonWellington Karori Normal School
AFLNZ Academy 2017 Youth Girls
Name Region School
Abbey FerrallWaitakereRutherford College
Aleesha FaateaWaitakereRutherford College
Anna Hall Otago
Buell VerkadeHarbourWhangaparaoa College
Charley GreenNorthlandDargaville High school
Chelsea Jane YoungAucklandPukekohe High School
Daina BrazierWaitakereMassey High School
Emma Collins WaitakereMassey High School
India Smith WaitakereRutherford College
Ivi Kapeli EseraWaitakereHenderson High School
Jaimee WyattHarbourWestlake Girls High School
Jasmine PakiAucklandEpsom Girls Grammar
Jolyn CollinsWaitakereMassey High School
Killarney MoreyAucklandEpsom Girls Grammar School
Kirianna Mathews Counties Pukekohe High School
Maddison MackenzieWaitakereRutherford College
Maree LangendoenWaitakereRutherford College
Mary HislopCountiesPakuranga College
Masoka KalengaHarbour Carmel College
Mollie TagaloaWaitakereRutherford College
O'Shea MacmillanNorthlandWhangarei Girls High School
Paige SchroderWellington Hutt Valley High School
Samantha Shrimpton Harbour Birkenhead College
Sydney Gill Wellington Onslow College
Tayla-Lee BainbridgeWaitakereRutherford College

About the author


Related Posts