Premiership Announces Development Players

13 Dec, 2016

The AFL New Zealand Premiership will provide a number of talented players from the AFL New Zealand Academy the opportunity to participate in the Premiership as development players.


The opportunity will be utilised to further development and manage the environment for young players and their introduction into senior football. The  preparation they receive will potentially see them drafted and playing in the 2018 AFLNZ Premiership as a full time participant.

Those announced are all born in the year 2000 and are not guaranteed to play in the premiership or play every week. High Performance management will distribute development players to team’s week to week dependant on several factors including;

  • The players stage of development
  • The players physical preparedness and capability
  • Approval from AFLNZ, the participants parents and the participant

The Development Player roster will be allocated in 3 blocks over the 9-week competition.  Development Players will train with the Academy as per schedule. As players are allocated to a team to play, they will that week, train with the premiership group.

On game day, athletes will still be prepared during their Academy session and then play in the Premiership fixture.  Development opportunities will be managed by AFL New Zealand and respective coaches this will include specific timing, rotation and opposition match ups throughout the game.

The following 16 Development Players representing 14 different schools, are to have availability confirmed;


Region School Full Name
Wellington St Patrick Silverstream William  Kempt
Auckland St Peters College Isaac Piper
Harbour Takapuna Grammar School Daniel Howie
Auckland Western Springs College James Dakin
Counties Rosehill college Argyle Morling
Waitakere Green Bay High School Clayton Walters
Waitakere Avondale College Jerome Goodhue
Harbour Westlake Boys High School Jackson Hemmingsen
Harbour Northcote College Lewis Barrow-Young
Harbour Long Bay College Couper Jones
Auckland Lynfield College David Stein
Waitakere Avondale college Bronson Hewitson
Waitakere Green Bay High School Declan Crann
Waitakere Green Bay High School Jacob Burri
Harbour Northcote College Jacob Tucker
Northland Whangarei Boys High School Michael Iwashita



About the author


Related Posts