Past International Cup NZ squads

18 Aug, 2017

In the lead up to the 2017 AFL International Cup Grand Final, we showcase the past New Zealand sides that have previously competed at the tournament.


2002 – Third

Full NameRegionTeam
John Jackson (C)WellingtonEastern Suburbs Bulldogs
Aaron SaundersCanterburyNorthern Jets
Al HunterWellingtonEastern Suburbs Bulldogs
Brad DoustCanterburyEastern Blues
Bruce MalcomWellingtonNorth City Demons
Byron RoffWellingtonEastern Suburbs Bulldogs
Craig DouthatAucklandTakapuna Eagles
Dan GarbettWellingtonEastern Suburbs Bulldogs
Dave GoodallAucklandUniveristy Blues
Geoff ThomasCanterburyEastern Blues
Grant ConwayAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
James BowdenCanterburyEastern Blues
James KerseWellingtonNorth City Demons
Jarad EvensAucklandUniveristy Blues
Jason BallCanterburyEastern Blues
Josh HemaWellingtonEastern Suburbs Bulldogs
Kerry WilkinsonAucklandMt Roskill Saints
Luke EllisWellingtonNorth City Demons
Mike GawnAucklandWaitakere Magpies
Mike SeverinsenWellingtonEastern Suburbs Bulldogs
Miles StratfordAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
Paul GunningAucklandManurewa Raiders
Richard BradleyCanterburyEastern Blues
Richard PidgeonAucklandUniveristy Blues
Rob HartAucklandManurewa Raiders
Rob WillisWellingtonNorth City Demons
Steve FroggattAucklandUniveristy Blues
Tim StevensWellingtonWellington City Saints
Vince SerciCanterburyEastern Suburbs Bulldogs
Wayne HarveyWellingtonEastern Suburbs Bulldogs


2005 – Champions

Full NameRegionTeam
Andrew Congalton (C)AucklandTakapuna Eagles
Alex FakatoumafiAucklandManurewa Raiders
Andrew MarsdenAucklandWaitakere Magpies
Bevan MorrisWaikatoWaikato Thunder
Byron RoffWellingtonEastern Bulldogs
Caleb StickAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
Craig AshtonAucklandTakapuna Eagles
David Cory ToussaintAucklandUniversity Blues
Dougal HendersonWaikatoWaikato Thunder
Geoff ThomasCanterburyEastern Blues
Guy FergusonWellingtonEastern Bulldogs
James BowdenCanterburyEastern Blues
Jason Everson CanterburyEastern Blues
Jason PocockAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
John MalingAucklandWaitakere Magpies
Louis McLennanAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
Marcus JonesAucklandMt Roskill Saints
Matt CallaghanAucklandMt Roskill Saints
Paul GunningAucklandManurewa Raiders
Paul MasonWellingtonWellington Saints
Richard Bradley CanterburyEastern Blues
Ryan SpoonerWaikatoWaikato Thunder
Scott McNallyCanterburyEastern Blues
Steve FroggattAucklandUniversity Blues
Tim StevensWellingtonWellington Saints
Todd DanksAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
Tristan McArleyAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
Shane WahlWellingtonWellington Saints
Shaun AllisonCanterburyCanterbury Cougars


2008 – Runner up

Full NameRegionTeam
Andrew Congalton (C)AucklandTakapuna Eagles
Aaron HarrisCanterburyUniversity Cougars
Andrew BuckthoughtAucklandUniversity Blues
Andrew CrightonAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
Andriu SucuAucklandNorth Shore
David Cory-ToussaintAucklandUniversity Blues
David RattenburyAucklandWaitakere Magpies
Geoffrey ThomasCanterburyEastern Blues
Graham RattenburyWellingtonEastern Bulldogs
James BowdenCanterburyEastern Blues
James MonaghanAucklandUniversity Blues
John MalingAucklandWaitakere Magpies
Lewis HurstAucklandMt Roskill Saints
Liam AcklandAucklandMt Roskill
Luke KneeboneWaikatoHamilton Mavericks
Marcus JonesAucklandMt Roskill Saints
Matt CrightonAucklandNorth Shore
Matthew CallaghanWestern AustraliaThornlie Lions
Matthew Van WijkWaikatoHamilton Mavericks
Mitchell MaceWaikatoHamilton Tuis
Morgan JonesQueenslandUniversity
Moss DoranWarnamboolSth Warnabool Roosters
Nic CunneenAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
Paul GunningWestern AustraliaWarnbro Swans
Richard BradleyCanterburyEastern Blues
Richie MarsdenCanterburyEastern Blues
Sam WhiteheadCanterburyAshburton Eagles
Scott McNallyVictoriaOld Melburnians
Shane BrowneCanterburyEastern Blues


2011 – Third

Full NameRegionTeam
Andrew Crighton (C)AucklandNorth Shore Tigers
Aaron HarrisAucklandWaitakere Magpies
Adam RiceAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
Andrew ChristensenWellingtonUniversity Blues VIC
Andrew HowisonCanterburyMid Ashburton Eagles
Andrew MarsdenAucklandWaitakere Magpies
Andrui SucuAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
Brendan ClarkAucklandPambula Panthers NSW
Charlton BrownAucklandManurewa Raiders
Chris MundellAucklandUniversity Blues
Daniel McGregorAucklandWaitakere Magpies
David Cory ToussaintAucklandUniversity Blues
David RattenburyAucklandWaitakere Magpies
Jared CourtCanterburyEastern Blues
Justin ClarkCanterburyUniversity Cougars
Lukas SwartCanterburyEastern Blues
Luke KneeboneWaikatoHamilton Mavericks
Matthew Van WijkWaikatoManunda Hawks
Michael GregsonAucklandWaitakere Magpies
Michael TaggAucklandMt Roskill Saints
Rhys Panui-LethAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
Richard BradleyCanterburyEastern Blues
Sam DicksonCanterburyEastern Blues
Samiuela Tu'itupouAucklandManurewa Raiders
Simon CardenCanterburyMid Ashburton Eagles
Stanley ChungWellingtonEastern Bulldogs
Steven HowardCanterburyMid Ashburton Eagles
Troy LaveryWellingtonHutt Valley Eagles
Vandyn HartmanAucklandManurewa Raiders


2014 – Third

Full NameRegionTeam
Andy Howison (C)VictoriaOakleigh Districts
Aaron HarrisVictoriaUniversity Blues
Adam SimpsonAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
Andy ChristensenVictoriaUniversity Blues
Ben MillerOtagoOtago Riot
Brendan ClarkNorthern TerritoryTiwi Bombers
Cam LubranskyCanterburyEastern Blues
Chris MundellAucklandUniversity Blues
Dan BennyOtagoOtago Riot
David RattenburyAucklandWaitakere Magpies
James RoughanCanterburyChristchurch Bulldogs
Jared CourtCanterburyEastern Blues
Jay JohnsonCanterburyEastern Blues
Joseph Baker-ThomasWellingtonNorth City Demons
Justin ClarkCanterburyUniversity Cougars
Kyle SmithCanterburyChristchurch Bulldogs
Levi InglisCanterburyEastern Blues
Logan ToomerOtagoOtago Riot
Matt Van WijkWaikatoWaikato Thunder
Michael BoyceAucklandMt Roskill Saints
Michael GregsonAucklandWaitakere Magpies
Nick FisherCanterburyEastern Blues
Sam McKenzieAucklandMt Roskill Saints
Shane LeatAucklandWaitakere Magpies
Te Kopa Tipene-ThomasNorthlandNorth Shore Tigers
Tim MortonAucklandUniversity Blues
Ty SmithAucklandNorth Shore Tigers
William GregsonAucklandWaitakere Magpies


3km Time trial comparison

Shaun AllisonCanterbury10.40Andrew HowisonCanterbury10.00
John MalingAuckland10.45William DickinsonAuckland10.14
Andrew MarsdenAuckland10.47Andy ChristensenWellington10.34
Scott McNallyCanterbury10.48Carlos Donnell-Brown Auckland10.37
Tristan McArleyAuckland10.49Jackson Clince Auckland10.48
Dougal HendersonWaikato10.58Te Kopa Tipene-ThomasNorthland10.57
Marcus JonesAuckland11.01Brandon Sucu Auckland10.57
Guy FergusonWellington11.08Ty SmithAuckland11.07
Jason PocockAuckland11.11Samuel McKenzieAuckland11.11
Todd DanksAuckland11.18Peter HalsteadWellington11.13


2017 AFL International Cup Grand Final:

New Zealand vs Papua New Guinea

Saturday 19th August


Kick off: 11.15am (AEST)/1.15pm (NZT)

AFL New Zealand will be providing live Twitter updates of every game on the AFL New Zealand Twitter page (@aflnz) and quarter by quarter updates, photos and up to date news will be published on Facebook and Instagram along with our website


About the author


Related Posts