The fourth year of the AFL New Zealand Premiership will commence on February 17th 2019.


Four teams will compete in the Premiership Season based at QBE Stadium in North Harbour with a 9 round schedule culminating in late April.

The AFL New Zealand Premiership will target the inclusion of 120 talented athletes throughout New Zealand with a player base roster retained by each of the four clubs from the previous season. The remaining and new players allocated selection in the four teams by way of the “AFL New Zealand National Draft”.

The AFL New Zealand National Draft will contain different list categories on which potential participants will appear.

Initial confirmation of number #1 draft selections for each team will provide an exciting insight to the available talent on display.

It is seen as the perfect opportunity for a higher level competition providing an extension to the traditional regional league seasons spanning between August to December each year.  The seasons timing also provides the opportunity for coaches to utilise Australian based players within their selections.


2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership Season Schedule:

Round 1               February 17th

Round 2               February 24th

Round 3               March 3rd

Round 4               March 10th

Round 5               March 17th

Round 6               March 24th

Round 7               March 31st

Round 8               April 7th

Round 9               April 14th


2016 Winners

Western Crows crowned champions in first ever AFL New Zealand Premiership

2017 Winners

Southern Saints dominate Crows to win first Premiership

2018 Winners

Giants take out 2018 Premiership in style as the Saints smash the Crows