There are currently five leagues involved with AFL competitions in New Zealand.

The Otago League is the latest inclusion and AFL New Zealand will work towards creating and establishing pathway for female participation.

The recent development of AFL9’s and “Play AFL” Clubs will be utilised as a recruiting ground for established AFL competitions.

Every year the five leagues send representative teams to the National Provincial Championship held in December at the completion of regional competitions. The current champions are Auckland.

The level of competition is high and the NPC gives players an opportunity for selection to the New Zealand national team the New Zealand Hawks.

To register your interest contact us here

Auckland Australian Football league

There are 6 clubs across Auckland competing in the AAFL. Matches will begin on the 31st of August, with the season running until the 30th of November.

We invite all players, regardless of skill level to come and experience the fun and excitement of playing AFL. The AAFL  competition is affordable, enjoyable and competitive.

AAFL is always looking for volunteers and in particular umpires. Umpiring offers people the opportunity to be a part of the game they love, keep fit and meet new people. If you are interested in umpiring please contact our President, Steve Fury, on  021404849 for further detail.


 Clubs Information:

The North Shore Tigers train at Greenslade Reserve, Northcote, on Wednesday at 6.00pm. New players are always welcome. For more information, contact Barry Rogers, Acting President of the North Shore Tigers, at barry@kiwivision.co.nz, or on 021 6745 160.


University Rules Football Club  train at Colin Maiden Park, Merton Road, St. Johns on Wednesday at 6:00pm. Contact Chris Mundell at christophermundell@gmail.com or on 021 330 772, or Howard Gilbert at howardgilbert@hotmail.com or on 021 1427465.


Manurewa Raiders AFL Football Club train at Mountfort Park , Manurewa (Manurewa Rugby Club) on Wednesday at 6.00pm. Contact Club President Leigh Dowie on 0274822337, or email  exacta@ihug.co.nz.


The Mt Roskill Saints train at War Memorial Park, May Rd, Mt Roskill on Wednesdays from 6pm. Contact info@thesaints.co.nz or check www.thesaints.co.nz for more details.


The Pakuranga A.F.C. Panthers train at Pigeon Mountain Domain on Wednesdays at 6.30pm. New players should contact coach Brodyn Bevan  on 021 105 6191. The club is also seeking local businesses for sponsorship. Interested parties should contact Treasurer Terry Carroll on 027 520 0830.


The Waitakere Magpies train at Parrs Park, Waitakere on Wednesday nights between 7-9pm, starting from September 3rd. Contact Bex Siebert, Secretary and Team manager – 021 1079489

To visit the AAFL website click here.

Canterbury Australian Football League

The Canterbury Australian Football Association was formed in 1974 and existed until 1998 when the Canterbury Australian Football League was formed. This body remains to this day.

There are four teams in the CAFL and the annual competition runs from late August to early November. Canterbury is one of the strongest regions in New Zealand, winning three NPC titles in a row between 2010 and 2012.

To find out more about the league and teams click here.

If you are interested in playing and live in the Waikato region, please contact playafl@aflnz.co.nz to discuss what options are available.

COLOURS: Black and Gold


PRESIDENT: James Terry

Email: buildersjmt@gmail.com

Phone: 021 411 449

SECRETARY: Margaret Lavery

Email: margaretlavery@gmail.com

Phone: 027 243 5678


Email: sakiwi69@hotmail.com

Phone: 021 166 6970

Club Representative – North City Demons: Shannon Wall

Email: Shannon@anode.co.nz

Phone: 021 485 158

Club Representative – Wellington City Saints: Josh Riddiford

Email: josh.d.riddiford@gmail.com

Phone: 027 423 4481

Club Representative – Eastern Bulldogs: James Terry

Phone: 021 411 449

Club Representative – Hutt Valley Eagles: Alex Wood

Phone: 027 766 4358 

Otago AFL

COLOURS: Blue and Gold


PRESIDENT: Michael Bruhn

E-mail: bruhn.mic@gmail.com

Contact Phone: 021 609 401


E-mail: warwickkain@yahoo.com.au

Contact Phone: 022 614 7858

The Otago Riot are looking for players for the upcoming season. For more information and general enquiries, contact  afl.otago@gmail.com.