New AFL competition to hit New Zealand

The newly formed 2016 AFL New Zealand Premiership will commence on February 14th 2016.

Four teams will compete in the Premiership Season based at North Harbour Stadium with a 9 round schedule culminating in late April.

The inaugural season of the AFL New Zealand Premiership will target the inclusion of 96 talented athletes throughout New Zealand with players allocated selection in the four teams by way of the “AFL New Zealand National Draft”.

The appointment of coaching staff is currently underway and an announcement of the teams to compete and the coaches who will lead them will take place on Friday.

A targeted player list for the AFL New Zealand National Draft is currently being finalised and expressions of interest will be forwarded over the next week to the best available talent.

The AFL New Zealand National Draft will contain 7 different list categories on which potential participants will appear.

Initial confirmation of number #1 draft selections for each team will provide an exciting insight to the available talent on display.

It is seen as the perfect opportunity for a higher level competition providing an extension to the traditional regional league seasons spanning between August to December each year.  The seasons timing also provides the opportunity for coaches to utilise Australian based players within their Category 7 or “Wild Card” draft selections.

2016 AFL New Zealand Premiership Season Schedule

North Harbour Stadium

Round 1               February 14th

Round 2               February 21st

Round 3               February 28th

Round 4               March 6th

Round 5               March 13th

Round 6               March 20th

Easter Break

Round 7               April 3rd

Round 8               April 10th

Round 9               April 17th