Rattenbury remains as Central Giants Captain for 2017

The Central Giants have announced that 2016 Captain Dave Rattenbury will once again lead the side in the 2017 AFL New Zealand Premiership.


Rattenbury was a key figure for the Giants during the 2016 season which saw him play 8 games throughout the season. His highlights during the Premiership were a best on ground performance during the Giants round 3 match against the Northern Suns and was also instrumental in their round 9 upset victory over the Southern Saints.

Dave Rattenbury in action for the Central Giants

The Central Giants showed glimpses of their full potential in their inaugural season and with the likelihood of base players remaining within the team, they will look to challenge the other three teams. “The Giants showed last year that with our top squad on the pitch we could beat anyone. Hopefully we are able to pick up some good talent at the draft and take top spot.” Rattenbury stated.
The hard running midfielder enjoyed the challenge during the 2016 Premiership season and can’t wait for next year to roll around “After a big learning curve last year, I am chomping at the bit to get back into playing Premiership footy at the start of 2017. The skill level was a step up from local club competitions and all the players across the board really lifted week in week out.”


Read more: Premiership winning coach switches to Central Giants for 2017


New head coach Rob Malone is looking forward to working with his new captain.

“Having worked with Dave in the New Zealand High Performance set up, I am looking forward to teaming up with him and using his 2016 Giants experience to set up a solid foundation for the 2017 competition”

2017 will be a big year for Rattenbury as he has set his sights on playing in his fourth consecutive International Cup after appearing for the New Zealand Hawks in the three prior competitions in 2008, 2011 and 2014.

Rattenbury is currently playing in the Auckland AFL competition where he represents the Waitakere Magpies, a team that he has won two Grand Finals with in a playing capacity in 2010 and 2013 since his debut in 2005.


[interaction id=”57cf825eec3cf49f6e751541″]