2014 NPC Dates Announced

The 2014 AFL New Zealand National Provincial Championships will be held in Wellington, on the 6th and 7th of December.

The venue for all matches will be Hutt Park. Each team will play one game on Saturday the 6th, and two games on Sunday the 7th.

Regional AFL Leagues are invited to enter a team to represent them in the tournament. Rules and regulations of the NPC can be found here:

The current NPC Champions are Auckland, after breaking a three year Canterbury winning streak in the 2013 NPC.

The Auckland squad will feature a large contingent of New Zealand representative players, who have recently returned from the AFL International Cup with a bronze medal.

However, Canterbury will also be very strong, with a squad that involves their own group of Senior New Zealand representatives.

Wellington will have home advantage, and will be able to call on local knowledge of the conditions in the capital, which can at times be wild and windy.

Otago will also be competing, and while they are yet to register an NPC win, their strength and depth is growing.

Regional Leagues will be selecting their teams in the coming weeks, with competitions in Auckland and Canterbury underway, and Wellington and Otago starting soon. More information on playing Senior AFL in New Zealand can be found here.