2016 Youth Competition draws to a close

The 2016 AFL New Zealand Youth Competition has drawn to a close after a successful final round in both Auckland and Wellington over the weekend. The competition commenced in October and has been a huge success in introducing the game of AFL to new boys and girls in both regions.



The Youth Girls and U14 Boys combined again this week to test out each others skill levels and it ended up being the Magpies who took out the last game of the season. Levi Wilson from Rosmini College and India Smith from Rutherford College were awarded Players of the Day for the Magpies for their outstanding efforts all around the ground. From the Tigers, Albany Junior High School student Luke Buckley claimed the Player of the day award for the second week in a row along with Chelsea Young from Pukekohe High School.



Players of the day:

Magpies: India Smith and Levi Wilson

Tigers: Chelsea Young and Luke Buckley 


The Crows put on a great attacking performance to score a 27 point win in the U17 Youth Boys competition. Luke Dunning (Albany Senior High School) provided some great ball use around the ground and Ronan Morling (Rosehill College) took some strong marks and provided some great handballs to his team mates. There were multiple goal scorers with Max Hicks, Aidan Anthony Collins, Levi Boyd and Lewis Barrow Young all kicking 3 goals each. Alvin Grant (Northcote College) was player of the day for the Crows and Dawson Nanai (Southern Cross Campus) for the Suns which rounds out a terrific season for both players.




Crows: Lewis Barrow-Young 3, Levi Boyd 3, Luke Dunning 2, Bronson Hewitson 2, Argyle Morling 1, Jerome Goodhue 1

Suns: Aidan Anthony Collins 3,  Max Hicks 3, David Stein 2  

Player of the day:

Crows: Alvin Grant

Suns: Dawson Nanai


The Wellington Youth competition ran alongside the National Provincial Championships on Sunday at Hutt Park. The Bulldogs took out the last game of the season by 16 points to finish on a strong note. Scots College students Doug McJorrow and Jonah Christians controlled the game for the Bulldogs all around the park and McJorrow was awarded the player of the day. Milo Crispin (Wellington College) and Sam Morgan (Fergusson Intermediate) were the standouts for the Lions in their defeat.




Bulldogs: Ryan Awatere 3, Jonah Christians 2, Doug McJorrow 1, Thomas Woodward 1

Lions: Milo Crispin 2, George Hopkins 1, Sam Morgan 1


Player of the day:

Bulldogs: Doug McJorrow

Lions: Milo Crispin



Over the course of the competition coaches have been voting for their Best and Fairest players each week and the winners were announced during the presentations.

Best and Fairest winners: 

Auckland Youth Girls Best and Fairest: 

  • Jolyn Collins – Massey High School
  • Buell Verkade – Whangaparaoa College

Wellington Best and Fairest: 

  • Milo Crispin – Wellington College
  • Jonah Christians – Scots College

Auckland U14 Youth Boys Best and Fairest:

  • Tom Hack – Westlake Boys High School
  • Brook Robson – Westlake Boys High School

Auckland U17 Youth Boys Best and Fairest

  • Declan Crann – Green Bay High School
  • James Dakin – Western Springs College


AFL New Zealand would like to thank everyone involved in the 2016 Youth competition. To all the players, parents, volunteers and umpires, we couldn’t have done it without you and look forward to bringing you a bigger and better competition when it all starts again in 2017.