2017 NZ Senior Squads named for ANZAC clash and International Cup

AFL New Zealand has identified 50 athletes for wider squad selection for the New Zealand Senior team in 2017.


The two campaigns will include ANZAC to be played at Westpac Stadium on April 24th 2017 and the International Cup in Melbourne in August 2017. The two campaigns will see their respective selection processes carried out independently of each other. Criteria for eligibility will vary for the two campaigns with considerations placed on performance, International Scholarship status and player development, all factors in selection.

Those involved in the initial squad who are not selected for the ANZAC campaign and fulfil the required criteria, will still have the opportunity to be selected for the International Cup.

In one month, additions and subtractions based on performance will be made for both campaigns. The availability of Australian based talent will also play a bearing on squad additions. Head coach Rob Malone is intent in selecting the best possible teams.

“Our target is to select the best possible team for New Zealand. The ability to add or delete names from the squad, will ensure competition for spots and show case who is willing to work hard to achieve final selection”.

The first campaign will be against the Australian Under 17 team to be played at Wellington Westpac Stadium and will commence at 11.30am on Monday April 24th 2017.

This will be followed by the International Cup in Melbourne with players arriving in Melbourne 4th August and departing 20th August 2017.  New Zealand will play five games against International opposition including Papua New Guinea and Ireland with the final to be played in Melbourne with the final to be played at the MCG.

Current Central Giants coach Rob Malone will be joined by Justin Davies as his assistant as the New Zealand team prepares for the upcoming season. Coaching staff will be finalised over the coming weeks.


The wider New Zealand Senior Squad is as follows;

RegionFirst NameLast NameClub
BrisbaneAaronHarrisCoorparoo Kings
BrisbaneAdamSimpsonSpringwood Pumas
MelbourneAndrewHowisonOakleigh Districts
AucklandAndriuSucuNorth Shore Tigers
MelbourneBarclayMillerSt Kilda Saints
AucklandBenHickUniversity Blues
CanterburyBradMavorChristchurch Bulldogs
BrisbaneBrandonSucuWilston Grange
BrisbaneBrendanClarkMaroochydore Roos
AucklandCarlosDonnell-BrownWaitakere Magpies
CanterburyCharlesBarnesMid Canterbury Eagles
OtagoChristianBlackieOtago Hoops
WellingtonCraigMorganHutt Valley Eagles
BrisbaneDanYoungBond University
AucklandDavidRattenburyWaitakere Magpies
OtagoGeorgeReadCentral Giants
WellingtonHarisonManksWellington City Saints
OtagoHetaScarf-MatthewsOtago Riot
AucklandJacksonClinceNorth Shore Tigers
WellingtonJamesKuselHutt Valley Eagles
CanterburyJamesBowdenEastern Blues
CanterburyJaredCourtEastern Blues
CanterburyJayJohnsonEastern Blues
MelbourneJoeBaker-ThomasSt Kilda Saints
AucklandJordanDrinkallUniversity Blues
WellingtonJoshMorgan-RanuiNorth City Demons
OtagoJoshMackieOtago Hoops
AucklandJoshCunliffeNorth Shore Tigers
AucklandJoshuaCopelandWaitakere Magpies
CanterburyKyleSmithChristchurch Bulldogs
AucklandLiamMcMasterUniversity Blues
AucklandLiamBeattieUniversity Blues
AucklandMaxwellHicksCentral Giants
AucklandMichaelBoyceMt Roskill Saints
WellingtonMisilifiFaimaloNorth City Demons
MelbourneMykeltiLefauCasey Demons
AucklandNickBaileyMt Roskill Saints
WellingtonPeterHalsteadEastern Bulldogs
AucklandSamuelMcKenzieMt Roskill Saints
AucklandShaneLeatWaitakere Magpies
BrisbaneSimonBlackBrisbane Lions
NorthlandTe KopaTipene-ThomasNorth Shore Tigers
AucklandTimStokesUniversity Blues
AucklandTySmithNorth Shore Tigers
MelbourneWilliamGregsonWaitakere Magpies
AucklandWilliamDickinsonMt Roskill Saints