2018 AFL New Zealand Academy announced

The athletes for the 2018 AFL New Zealand Academy have been announced by National Youth and Talent Identification Manager Mick Coultard. Academy athletes will participate in skill development, athletic testing and measurement, game play and personal development over an 8 week period.


From the Academy, AFL New Zealand Academy and New Zealand U18 Youth Girls teams will be selected consisting of 24 players each to play touring Australian teams over ANZAC weekend.

Eligibility for these teams can be found here: National Representation

Further opportunities arising from the AFL New Zealand Academy include, selection into New Zealand Academy teams, AFL New Zealand National Combine selection, access to talent scouts and AFL International Scholarships.

With a strong AFL programme within the school, Rosehill College in Counties Manukau have five students selected in the Academy. Whangarei Boys High School boast eight players in Northland while Otago Boys High School in Dunedin have seven representatives. In Canterbury, St. Bede’s College have a whopping sixteen representatives from the School.

This squad boasts 122 players from 50 Schools across 8 regions (North Harbour, Auckland, Waitakere, Counties Manukau, Northland, Wellington, Canterbury and Otago) in New Zealand and is the biggest Academy squad assembled since it’s inception.

Congratulations to all involved.


AFL New Zealand Youth Girls

Abby VerrenkarpAucklandPukekohe High School
Abigail CottonAucklandKingsway School
Archie-Leigh RussellAucklandHowick College
Brianna GroubeAucklandPakuranga College
Buell VerkadeAucklandWhangaparaoa College
Caitlin HannahAucklandAlbany Junior High School
Ceyan Tungane DrolletAucklandHowick College
Chelsea YoungAucklandPukekohe High School
Emma CollinsAucklandMassey High School
Jaimee WyattAucklandWestlake Girls High School
Janie RoseAucklandRuhterford College
Jasmine PakiAucklandEpsom Girls Grammar School
Killarney MoreyAucklandEpsom Girls Grammar School
Kylie McGahanAucklandWestlake Girls High School
Maia SciaroneAucklandWestlake Girls
O'Shea MacmillanNorthlandWhangarei Girls High School
Samantha ShrimptonAucklandBirkenhead College
Sydney GillWellingtonOnslow College
Valentina SerranoAucklandBaradene College


AFL New Zealand Youth Boys

Aaron McCrumAucklandPukekohe High School
AC ReineckeAucklandAlbany Junior High School
Aidan ChristiansWellingtonScots College
AJ AbdelaalCanterburySt Thomas of Canterbury College
Alexander KemptWellingtonSt Pats Silver Stream
Angus HammettCanterburySt Bedes College
Angus LeckieCanterburySt Bedes College
Bailee LaurensonWellingtonWellington College
Ben RoffWellingtonScots College
Beren GoodwinWellingtonRaphael House
Blake WilliamsonNorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Bom VerkadeAucklandWhangaparaoa College
Bradley MoloneyAucklandRosehill College
Braithan AndersonAucklandPakuranga College
Braydon DragicevichAucklandRosehill College
Brodie RichardsonAucklandStonefields
Bronson KakeNorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Caleb MacPhersonCanterburyPapanui High School
Cameron KerrWellingtonPalmerston North Boys High School
Campbell CleallCanterburySt Bedes College
Christian CollinsAucklandMarcellin College
Connor DiackOtagoOtago Boys High School
Connor HottonCanterburySt Thomas of Canterbury College
Conrad PenderWellingtonScots College
Devin PullyblankCanterburyShirley Boys High School
Douglas McJorrowWellingtonScots College
Dylan HookNorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Elliott PrendergastCanterburySt Bedes College
Ethan HaltonAucklandRosehill College
Felix ClarkAucklandWestern Springs College
Finn MoffatCanterburySt Bedes College
George HopkinsWellingtonWellington College
George MethvenCanterburySt Bedes College
Hari BelowWellingtonHeretaunga College
Harry SmithCanterburySt Bedes College
Henry GrantAucklandNorthcote College
Isaac HilliamWellingtonTawa College
Jack AbrahamAucklandWhangaparaoa college
Jack HeijnAucklandWhangaparaoa College
Jack LayWellingtonKapiti
Jack MeadAucklandOnewhero Area School
Jacob LeeAucklandAlbany Junior High School
Jacob NymanCanterburySt Thomas of Canterbury College
Jacob WrightCanterburySt Bedes College
James ScottAucklandNorthcote College
Jayden McintyreCanterburyRolleston College
Jaydn RobsonWellingtonAotea college
Jaymee WooddinCanterburyPapanui High School
Jevaan CroftAucklandAlfriston College
Joe AndrewsCanterburySt Bedes College
Joel HetheringtonAucklandKingsway Senior Campus
Jonah ChristiansWellingtonScots College
Jonathan AndersonWellingtonKarori Normal
Joseph ColeWellingtonAotea College
Joseph luiAucklandManurewa High School
Josh HeijnAucklandWhangaparaoa College
Josh Smith-BainAucklandRosmini College
Josh WiltshireCanterburySt Bedes College
Keaghan ChadwickWellingtonTawa College
Kieran CharltonCanterburySt Thomas of Canterbury College
Kole HarmerCanterburySt Thomas of Canterbury College
Kynan Stowers-SmithCanterburySt Bedes College
Layton CahillCanterburyShirley Boys High School
Leo FositaCanterburySt Bedes College
Levi BoydAucklandRutherford College
Liam BainbridgeCanterburyPapanui High School
Liam MayesAucklandRosmini College
Liam NeilsonOtagoOtago Boys High School
Luke ChalliesCanterburySt Bedes College
Luke de RooCanterburySt Bedes College
Luke LentnerAucklandRosehill College
Luke MayoAucklandWestern Springs College
Luke WilliamsAucklandPakuranga College
Manny Snooks NorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Mark Komene-Stowers Northland Te Kāpehu Whetū 
Max WalkerOtagoJohn McGlashan College
Maxwell MilneOtagoOtago Boys High School
Milo CrispinWellingtonWellington College
Mitchell HughanOtagoOtago Boys High School
Nino ChangizAucklandPukekohe High School
Oliver BugdenOtagoOtago Boys High School
Oliver GriffinOtagoOtago Boys High School
Oliver ParsonsAucklandWestlake Boys High School
Quinn PocockAucklandWestern Springs College
Rico TuhuaWellingtonUpper Hutt College
Ronan MorlingAucklandRosehill College
Ryan AwatereWellingtonAotea College
Sam AndersonCanterburySt Bedes College
Sam TurnerCanterburySt Bedes College
Samuel WartonAucklandKristin School
Samuel ThomasAucklandLong Bay College
Sebastyan JackAucklandRutherford College
Shaun RussNorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Shayden Jones-CodlinNorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Spencer JonesAucklandLong Bay College
Stuart TunleyAucklandSouthern Cross Campus
Taonga Stanish-MurphyNorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Tipene BallAucklandWestern Springs College
Troy FyfeNorthlandWhangarei Boys High School
Tyler DiackOtagoOtago Boys High School
Will RoffWellingtonSt Patricks College
William AndersonWellingtonWellington College
Xavier BryhamAucklandOrewa College
Xavier MextedNorthlandWhangarei Boys High School