2018 AFLNZ Premiership Round 1 Team of the Week

Each week throughout the 2018 Premiership season, AFL New Zealand will announce the ‘Team of the week’ which will feature the 24 best players from the previous weekends round.


The teams will be selected by the coaches of each team and will picked on stand out players who show the attributes of what it takes to be the best player. The 6 best players from each team will make up the team of the week.

At the culmination of the season, AFL New Zealand will announce the 2018 Premiership Team of the year which will consist of the players who have featured in the team of the week category. Consideration will be given to regional players who feature in less games.

This week’s side features Northern Suns best on ground Pete Rodgers headlining the backline. Joining Rodgers is speedsters Shane Leat, Tayne Lockwood and Chris Bailey along with debutant Couper Jones, who impressed in his first Premiership game.

The midfield includes youth and experience with Jake Tucker, Carlos Donnell-Brown, Blake Nahu and James Dakin all under the age of 20. New Zealand ruckman Ty Smith and Suns tall Josh Allen round out the midfield.

Rising star Declan Crann joins fellow Central Giant Brendan Clark in the forward line along with Western Crows best on ground Steph Tabaillou. Jed Williams makes his debut in the Team of the Week after a solid effort in his first game.