2018 ANZAC wider senior squad announced

AFL New Zealand has identified 45 athletes for wider squad selection for the New Zealand National Senior team in 2018.


Head coach Rob Malone is intent in selecting the best possible team for the ANZAC campaign in April.

“The AFL New Zealand senior team is again looking forward to playing the AFL Academy at Westpac stadium in April. The NZ players always look forward to this unique challenge and testing their abilities against the highly skilled elite Aussie boys. Our players also take great interest in watching the progress of some of the talented boys who have progressed to the AFL system after playing in this fixture in the past.

The NZ team will be a healthy balance of experienced players who have regularly represented NZ and some exciting young players who have worked their way through the AFL New Zealand development pathway and who will be exposed to this standard for the first time. All players who take the field will be committed both physically and mentally to being “the best they can be” and continually improving. The NZ game style will be a continuation of what was implemented for the last year’s game and the 2017 International Cup where the team narrowly lost the Grand final to PNG by 1 point on the MCG.”


Read more: Brownlow medalist Simon Black returns to play for New Zealand


The 2018 campaign will be against the AFL Academy team to be played at Wellington’s Westpac Stadium and will commence at 11.30am on Tuesday April 24th 2018.


Congratulations to everyone involved in the initial selection.


The wider New Zealand Senior Squad is as follows;

Full Name:Club:Region:
Alex AwatereNorth City DemonsWellington
Alistair Maisey                                  Mt Roskill SaintsAuckland
Andrew Howison                                            Dromana FCMelbourne
Andriu Sucu                                       North Shore TigersNorth Harbour
Barclay Miller                                                    St Kilda FcMelbourne
Blake Nahu                                        Central GiantsWaikato
Brad Mavor                                       Christchurch BulldogsCanterbury
Braedyn Collins                                Central GiantsNorth Harbour
Brendan Clark      Hinterland Blues FCSunshine Coast
Carlos Donnell-Brown                   Waitakere MagpiesWaitakere
Christian Blackie                              Otago RiotOtago
Craig Morgan                                    Hutt Valley EaglesWellington
Dean Staunton     Southern Districts FCNorthern Territory
Declan Honan-Crann                                    Waitakere MagpiesWaitakere
Harison Manks                               University BluesAuckland
Heta Scarf Matthews                    Otago RiotAuckland
Jackson Clince                                  North Shore TigersNorth Harbour
Jacob Tucker                                    North Shore TigersNorth Harbour
James Dakin                                      Central GiantsAuckland
James Kusel                                      Hutt Valley EaglesWellington
James McKenzie                             Mt Roskill SaintsAuckland
Jay Johnson                                       Eastern BluesCanterbury
Joe Baker Thomas  Pakenham FCMelbourne
Joel Brown                                         Manurewa RaidersCounties Manukau
Jonathan Macanawai  Western MagpiesBrisbane
Joseph Alesich-TamarikiNorth Shore TigersNorth Harbour
Josh Allen                                           Northern SunsBay of Plenty
Josh Copeland                                  Waitakere MagpiesWaitakere
Josh Cunliffe                                     North Shore TigersNorth Harbour
Josh Mackie                                      Otago RiotOtago
Josh Morgan-Ranui                        North City DemonsWellington
Lachlan Argus           Aspley HornetsBrisbane
Matthew Argus             Aspley HornetsBrisbane
Michael Boyce                                  Mt Roskill SaintsAuckland
Misilifi Faimalo                                 North City DemonsWellington
Mykelti Lefau                                                   Casey DemonsMelbourne
Ronald Fuschtei                                    North Adelaide FCAdelaide
Samuel McKenzie                           Mt Roskill SaintsAuckland
Shane Leat                                         Waitakere MagpiesWaitakere
Simon Black                                                       Brisbane LionsBrisbane
Steph Tabaillou                                University BluesAuckland
Tayne Lockwood                             North City DemonsNelson
Te Kopa Tipene Thomas               North Shore TigersWaikato
Tim Stokes                                         University BluesAuckland
Ty Smith                                              North Shore TigersNorth Harbour
Will Gregson                                                    Dromana FCMelbourne
Will KemptWellington City SaintsWellington