2018 Premiership Form Guide: Western Crows

Next up, we have the Western Crows.


The Inaugural Premiers in 2016, the Crows struggled in their second season and will look to make amends in 2018. With former New Zealand Captain and new Head Coach Andrew Crighton taking the reins, look for the Crows to play an exciting brand of footy.

The Crows have retained key defenders Josh Copeland and Alastair Maisey who will make hard work of their opposition week in, week out. In the forward line Steph Tabaillou and Ben Armstrong were also retained as they will look to make an impact following their strong form in 2017.

During the 2017 National Draft, the Crows selected rising star Jake Tucker and former New Zealand senior player Vandyn ‘Diesel’ Hartman, who will bolster their midfield stocks.

After a disappointing 2017 season, the Crows will be flying once again in this years competition and will look to cause a few upsets.


2017 position: 4th

Predicted position in 2018: 2nd


Player to watch: Te Kopa Tipene-Thomas


Western Crows midfielder Te Kopa Tipene-Thomas will make his return to the Premiership side for the third consecutive season.

Since his New Zealand debut in April 2013, he has carved out an impressive pathway through to the Senior New Zealand team, along the way captaining the U16 New Zealand side, and being recognised as the 2014 and 2015 U16 AFL New Zealand Player of the Year.

His exceptional performance at this year’s International Cup earned him a spot in 2017 World Team as one of the best 22 players at the tournament.


Get excited: Jake Tucker


Exciting youngster Jake Tucker was selected by the Crows as the 2017 number one AFL New Zealand Draft pick.

Having spent 3 years in the AFL Academy programme, Tucker has now graduated and is one of the shining lights for the North Shore Tigers in the Auckland AFL.

Jake received the Rising Star award in the 2017 AFL New Zealand Premiership playing as a development player and his effective kicking and sharp handballs drew praise from Senior New Zealand Coach Rob Malone.