2018 Youth competition ends on a high

The 2018 AFL New Zealand Youth Competition has drawn to a close after an exciting final week in Auckland, Wellington and Canterbury over the weekend. The competition commenced in October and has been a huge success in introducing the game of AFL to new boys and girls in all three regions.


In the Auckland competition, George Smith from the U12’s continued his superb form as he has done for most of the season, leading the Giants to a seven goal victory. Smith was awarded the player of the day along with Alex Tucker from the Bulldogs.

The U15 and Female grade combined for their last game of the season and it was a tight finish with the Lions holding on to record a six point win.  Drew Clemas and Georgia Leonard were named the Lions best on the day while Danielle Hannah and Kylie McGahan picked up the award for the Bulldogs.

Flynn Cochrane kicked four goals as the Crows defeated the Suns in the U17 grade. Cochrane teamed with Luke Lentner (two goals) to secure the 17 point win.

In Wellington, the Giants romped home to record nine goal win over the Saints. Sam Lightfoot and Carter Lowther were awarded the player of the day for the Giants and for the Saints, Izzy Goodwin and Toby Devine were best.

The game in Canterbury saw the Giants record a 30 point win over the Suns. Young Jacob Nyman was in superb form for the Giants picking up the player of the day award. Quinn Richards White had a stellar game for the Suns and was their best on the day.



Player of the day:

Giants: George Smith

Bulldogs: Alex Tucker

Player of the day:

Lions: Drew Clemas & Georgia Leonard

Bulldogs: Danielle Hannah & Kylie McGahan

Player of the day:

Suns: Ronan Morling 

Crows: Liam Mayes



Player of the day:

Giants: Sam Lightfoot & Carter Lowther

Saints: Izzy Goodwin & Toby Devine



Player of the day:

Suns: Quinn Richards White

Giants: Jacob Nyman


Over the course of the competition coaches have been voting for their Best and Fairest players each week and the winners were announced during the presentations.


Best and Fairest winners: 

Auckland U12: George Smith


Auckland U15: Mia Kennedy-Nicholas


Auckland Female 16 & Over: Kylie McGahan


Auckland U17 Boys: Xavier Bryham


Wellington U15: Carter Lowther


Wellington U17: Jadyn Robson


Canterbury U15: Cameron Howison


Canterbury U17: Luke De Roo


AFL New Zealand would like to thank everyone involved in the 2018 Youth competition.

To all the players, parents, volunteers and umpires, we couldn’t have done it without you and look forward to bringing you a bigger and better competition when it all starts again in October 2019.