2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership to include Grand Final

February 2019, will see the commencement of the 4th AFL New Zealand Premiership.


Three completed seasons have seen three different Premiership title holders with Western Crows 2016, Southern Saints 2017 and Central Giants 2018, all successful under a home and away championship held in much the same manner as the English Premier League model that does not involve a finals competition.

2019 will see the introduction of a Grand Final that will see the two top teams compete in the first ever, AFL New Zealand Premiership Grand Final at QBE Stadium on Auckland’s North Shore.

AFL New Zealand Premiership teams will compete in 8 regular rounds, with the following week featuring the two top teams to compete in a one off final series hosting the inaugural AFL New Zealand Premiership Grand Final in April 2019.

Teams placed third and fourth will compete for the 2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership plate in what will be an exciting addition to the competitions fourth year.