2020 AFLNZ Premiership Round 1 Team of the Week

Each week throughout the 2020 Premiership season, AFL New Zealand will announce the ‘Team of the week’ which will feature the 24 best players from the previous weekends round.


The first Premiership Team of the week features some familiar faces along with faces that are new to the competition in 2020.

The ever reliable Shane Leat (Crows) headlines the backline after his best on ground perforamnce and is joined by Andrew Bissett (Saints), Seb Serrano (Giants) and 2019 Rising star Xavier Bryham.

New Zealand Falcons Michael Boyce (Saints), Harison Manks (Giants) and Te Kopa Tipene-Thomas (Crows) feature in the midfield alongside number 1 draft pick Patrick Smith (Suns).

Up front, James Southby (Saints) features after his 4 goal effort over the weekend while James Kusel makes a welcome return to the side after his re-entry back into the national competition.