2021 AFL New Zealand Academy announced

The athletes for the 2021 AFL New Zealand Academy have been announced. Academy athletes will participate in skill development, athletic testing and measurement, game play and personal development over an 8 week period.

From the Academy, AFL New Zealand Academy Level 1, Level 2 and New Zealand U18 Youth Girls teams will be selected consisting of 24 players each to play touring Australian teams in April next year.

Eligibility for these teams can be found here; National Representation.

Further opportunities arising from the AFL New Zealand Academy include, selection into New Zealand Academy teams, AFL New Zealand National Combine selection, access to talent scouts and AFL International Scholarships.

This squad boasts 128 players from 61 Schools across eight regions (North Harbour, Auckland, Waitakere, Counties Manukau, Northland, Wellington, Canterbury and Otago) in New Zealand.

Additions can and will be made to the academy squad to incorporate new talent additions and subtractions due to failure to meet AFL New Zealand Academy obligations.

Congratulations to all involved.

AFL New Zealand Youth Girls

First NameLast NameSchoolEntry Type
AbbeyAdamsGreenbay High SchoolWaitakere
Mia AllisonSt Margaret’s College Christchurch
AbbyBeattiePakuranga CollegeAuckland
Elena BryhamWestlake Girls High School North Harbour
JadeCampbellKingswayNorth Harbour
Annie-roseCollinsGreen Bay High SchoolWaitakere
Annabel ConnellVilla Maria CollegeChristchurch
AbigailCottonKingsway Auckland
Siena Edwards Epsom Girls GrammarAuckland
Caris ElySt Heliers SchoolAuckland
Leonardo Flores-McAlpine Glen Eden Intermediate SchoolWaitakere
Izzy Goodwin  Wellington
Caitlin HannahAlbany Senior High School North Harbour
Danielle Hannah Albany Junior High School North Harbour
XnethaHatchettAlbany Junior High SchoolNorth Harbour
Emily HunterAlbany Junior High School North Harbour
DanielleIwashitaWhangarei Girls High SchoolNorth Harbour
Darcey Joils Remuera Intermediate SchoolAuckland
Tilly Joils Remuera Intermediate SchoolAuckland
MakennaJonesLong Bay CollegeNorth Harbour
Ruby Larcombe St Margaret’s CollegeChristchurch
MilleLarcombe St Margaret’s CollegeChristchurch
NatalyahLefauFerguson IntermediateAuckland
HollyLightbourneEpsom Girls GrammarAuckland
Petra Milne Otago Girls High School Dunedin
MaddieMoffatVilla Maria CollegeChristchurch
Eve MortimerSt Kentigern’sNorth Harbour
AliceRoyEpsom Girls GrammarAuckland
Archie-Leigh Russell  North Harbour
MaiaSciarone Westlake Girls High School North Harbour
ValentinaSerrano Baradene CollegeAuckland
Joanne SialeBirdwood Primary schoolWaitakere
Frida Smith Titirangi Primary School Waitakere
Holly StephneyPakuranga CollegeAuckland
Jade Stewart Kohimarama School Auckland
TaytumStorerOrewa CollegeNorth Harbour
JulessaTaungahihifo Onehunga Primary Auckland
Mia Taverna Bayfield Primary School North Harbour
Lucia Taverna Bayfield Primary School North Harbour
Aeidan TihanyiNorthcote CollegeNorth Harbour
Onyx TihanyiNorthcote CollegeNorth Harbour
Nikita TihanyiNorthcote CollegeNorth Harbour

AFL New Zealand Youth Boys

First NameLast NameSchoolRegion
HarrisonAldermanAlbany Junior High School North Harbour
Cooper Alderman Albany Junior High SchoolNorth Harbour
OttoAllermo Fletcher Wellington College Wellington
NoahAllisonSt Bedes CollegeChristchurch
Will AndersonWellington College Wellington
JonoAndersonWellington College Wellington
Pharrel Anderson Green Bay High SchoolWaitakere
Ryan Awatere Aotea College Wellington
Cody Beale Westlake Boys High SchoolNorth Harbour
Senne Brackenbury Green Bay High SchoolWaitakere
LoganBrownOrewa CollegeNorth Harbour
Tristan BrownGlen EdenWaitakere
Aidan Christians Scots College Wellington
CampbellCleallSt Bede’s CollegeChristchurch
DrewClemasGreen Bay High SchoolWaitakere
Oliver Cline St Peters College Auckland
Joseph Cole Aotea College Wellington 
James Collier Middleton Grange Christchurch
MichaelDunnGreen Bay High SchoolWaitakere
LachieEdwardsWellington CollegeWellington
MatthewErcegGlen Eden IntermediateAuckland
ThomasFitzpatrickSelwyn CollegeAuckland
Rafael Flores-McAlpine Monte Cecilia School Waitakere
Max Frew St Bede’s College Christchurch
OliverGiamblancoChristchurch Boys High SchoolChristchurch
Xavier Giles  Christchurch
CallumGlenisterSacred Heart College Auckland
JoshuaGoosenAlbany Junior High SchoolNorth Harbour
JoelGoosen Albany Primary School North Harbour
LeoGrantNorthcote CollegeNorth Harbour
JakeHaighWaimauku PrimaryNorth Harbour
Angus Hammet Christ’s CollegeChristchurch
MaxHammettSt Bedes CollegeChristchurch
Kalen Hanks-Papali’I Mt Albert Grammer North Harbour
IkaikaHanks-Papali’I Mt Albert Grammer North Harbour
BenHansenWellington College Wellington
LachieHaySacred Heart collegeAuckland
CameronHowisonSt Bede’s CollegeChristchurch
EmilJohannessenWestern Springs CollegeNorth Harbour
Spencer Jones Long Bay College North Harbour
Brady Jones Aquinas College Tauranga
Carter Jones Long Bay College North Harbour
Alex Kempt St Patrick’s Sliverstream Wellington 
Tane Kirton Westlake Boys High SchoolNorth Harbour
EthanLatimer Christchurch
Bailee Laurenson Wellington College Wellington
Luke Lentner Rosehill College Auckland
JoeLepionkaSt KentigernsNorth Harbour
Joshua Lightbourne  Auckland
Cameron LinkhornAotea CollegeWellington
SamMacDonald Mt Albert Grammer North Harbour
Hiroki Mafi Remuera Intermediate SchoolAuckland
LachlanMcBrideSt Andrew’s CollegeChristchurch
Connor McIver-RhodesDilworth North Harbour
HamishMeatesSt Bedes CollegeChristchurch
Jamie MooreLincoln High School Christchurch
HugoMortimerSt KentigernsNorth Harbour
Nate NinichGladstone PrimaryWaitakere
Jacob Nyman Saint Thomas of Canterbury College Christchurch
Dylan Ost Rosehill College Auckland
Harrison Ost Rosehill College Auckland
Luke O’SullivanChristchurch Boys’ HighChristchurch
DouglasPapaliiGlen Eden IntermediateWaitakere
ElijahPathanHoly Cross School PapatoetoeAuckland
DylanPetersonRemuera IntermediateAuckland
CallumReidHadlow SchoolWellington
Will Roff Scots College Wellington 
Ben Roff Scots College Wellington
Oliver Roy  Auckland
Henry Russell St Andrew’s College Christchurch
James Scott Northcote College Auckland
Max SerranoSacred Heart College Auckland
GeorgeSmithGlen Eden Intermediate SchoolWaitakere
Thomas Smith  Wellington
Blake Stewart Kohimarama Auckland
Tyrone Stubbs Mt Albert Grammer School Auckland
JackSykesRosmini CollegeNorth Harbour
Phoenix TanaKelston Boys HighWaitakere
Mackenzie TelfordPapanui High School Christchurch
ShaeTihanyiNorthcote CollegeNorth Harbour
Kallyn TihanyiNorthcote CollegeNorth Harbour
KhaylebWillemsAlbany Junior High SchoolNorth Harbour
Tony Worthington  Christchurch
LeoYeoman Titirangi Rudolf Steiner School Waitakere

Read more: