2024 AFLW Fixture revealed

The Sydney Swans have been rewarded for its impressive crowds last season, earning the NAB AFL Women’s 2024 season opener against Collingwood at North Sydney Oval on Friday, August 30.
The opening night will also feature a Daisy Pearce-led West Coast side hosting Richmond at Mineral Resources Park. Last year’s Grand Finalists, Brisbane and North Melbourne, will also face off in week one.

Each club will play 11 home and away games across a 10-week period, leading to the fixture being labelled by week, rather than by round, for the first time in history.

The compressed section of games will run from week four – starting on Tuesday, September 17 with a match between Collingwood and West Coast – and ending in week seven. Each of the 18 teams will play two games in one of those weeks.

Mid-week games will take place across the four weeks, including Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday games coinciding with school holidays, and will be focused on television viewership.

“The mid-week matches will fall during the school holidays, and provide great opportunities for fans to watch at home on evenings that traditionally don’t have footy,” AFL head of broadcast operations and scheduling Josh Bowler said.

“We felt it was important for our fans to maintain the weekend timeslot structure we have seen in previous seasons, while also adding an additional game mid-week across the middle of the competition for fans to enjoy.”

Growth metrics – as outlined as a requirement for future expansion of the home and away season – will be focused on the traditional weekend timeslots, and mid-week matches will not be considered a detractor toward growth.

Non-Victorian clubs Port Adelaide, Fremantle, and Sydney have each been given back-to-back games in Victoria during the compressed period to alleviate some pressures of the short turnaround.

Things are a little trickier for Brisbane and Hawthorn, who will both travel to WA during their shortest break for the season.

All teams will be fixtured against a ‘group’ of other clubs during their compressed period of the fixture to ensure all teams face opponents coming off a similar break between games.

Three clubs – Richmond, Geelong, and West Coast – avoid any four-day breaks.

This period includes the weekend of the AFL Grand Final, with four games in Melbourne slated for the Grand Final eve public holiday.

For the first time since the competition moved to the August-December timeslot, there are no AFLW matches scheduled for the morning of the men’s Grand Final.

Indigenous week is set to take place in week nine, including the first AFLW Dreamtime match in the Northern Territory, between Essendon and Richmond in Darwin, while Hawthorn will also host Melbourne in Cairns.

Pride celebrations will be in week seven, with St Kilda, GWS, Adelaide, and Melbourne the four teams to play twice in that period.