A change of guard in Canterbury

The Canterbury AFL have recently held their AGM via a virtual meeting which has seen a change in the league’s President for the first time in 4 years.


Craig Varcoe has been voted in as the new President of Canterbury AFL during their 2020 AGM on Thursday 23rd April 2020 after Steve Langridge (2018’s AFL New Zealand Volunteer of the Year) stepped down after four years in the role.

New CAFL President, Craig Varcoe

Varcoe, a former Backman for the Christchurch Bulldogs, stepped off the field for the final time in 2016 after a season of injuries.

Craig joined the CAFL Committee in 2017 and has become an integral member of the league’s administration team along with being a leading umpire in the league and the AFL New Zealand Premiership.

The 2020 Canterbury AFL Committee:

President: Craig Varcoe

Vice-President: Adam Clarke

Treasurer: Jason Beck

Secretary: David Hume

Umpire Delegate: Terry Anderson

Committee Members: Matt Cawley, Adem Manderovic, Clint Williams, Melissa Baer and Dean Cameron

Club Delegates | Eastern Blues: Jay Johnson | Christchurch Bulldogs: Sam Burdett | University Cougars: Nathan Ryan | Mid Canterbury Eagles: Rick van Olphen