AFL Academy side announced for NZ Falcons clash

The 2019 NAB AFL Academy Squad has been announced ahead of their clash with the New Zealand Falcons on Saturday, April 27 at Marvel Stadium in Melbourne.


The challenge match will be the eight year an Australian Under 17s side has played against a New Zealand team, with players part of this year’s Squad following in the footsteps of Melbourne’s Jesse Hogan, West Coast Eagles’ Dom Sheed, GWS’ Josh Kelly, St Kilda’s Jack Billings, Carlton’s Sam Walsh and Essendon’s Darcy Parish who have all been apart of the NAB AFL Academy in year’s gone by.

Possible Adelaide father-son selection Luke Edwards is among the prospects selected in the Australian under-17s side to face the New Zealand Falcons this month.

The son of two-time premiership player Tyson has been included in the squad featuring players eligible for the 2019 NAB AFL Draft.

His brother Jackson spent last year on the Crows’ rookie list before being delisted without managing an AFL debut.

Taj Schofield, the son of Port Adelaide premiership player Jarrad, is another possible father-son in the squad, although he is in some doubt to play as he deals with a minor ankle injury.

The players will come together under coach Luke Power in Melbourne on Wednesday, April 24 for the start of the camp, which will conclude on Saturday, April 27 when they face the New Zealand side at Marvel Stadium in the curtain-raiser to the St Kilda and Adelaide clash.

In previous years the game has been played in New Zealand, but after changes to this year’s under-18 system and Academy structure, it has been shifted to Melbourne.

Elijah Hollands, the son of former Richmond player Ben, has already shown recruiters he looms as an early selection next year, as has Jamarra Ugle-Hayden, an agile and versatile forward.

Another familiar name in the group is Oliver Henry, the younger brother of Geelong defender Jack.

Talented pair Tanner Bruhn and Kaine Baldwin have been selected but will not play in the game due to respective knee injuries.


New Zealand Falcons vs AFL Academy

Where: Marvel Stadium, Melbourne

When: Saturday, April 27th.

Kick off: 1.20pm

Australian under-17s side:

Taj Schofield (WA/Subiaco/WWT)

Nathan O’Driscoll (WA/Perth)

Brandon Walker (WA/East Fremantle)

Zane Trew (WA/Swan Districts)

Logan McDonald (WA/Perth)

Denver Grainger-Barras (WA/Swan Districts)

Will Phillips (Vic Metro/Oakleigh Chargers)

Connor Downie (Vic Metro/Eastern Ranges)

Campbell Edwardes (Vic Metro/Calder Cannons)

Nikolas Cox (Vic Metro/Northern Knights)

Tanner Bruhn (Vic Country/Geelong Falcons)

Oliver Henry (Vic Country/Geelong Falcons)

Elijah Hollands (Vic Country/Murray Bushrangers)

Ethan Baxter (Vic Country/Murray Bushrangers)

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (Vic Country/Oakleigh Chargers/GWV Rebels)

Oliver Davis (Tasmania/Clarence)

Sam Collins (Tasmania/North Hobart)

Jackson Callow (Tasmania/North Launceston)

Corey Durdin (SA/Central District)

Zachary Dumesny (SA/South Adelaide)

Jye Sinderberry (SA/West Adelaide)

Luke Edwards (SA/Glenelg)

Kaine Baldwin (SA/Glenelg)

Riley Thilthorpe (SA/West Adelaide)

Alex Davies (QLD/Gold Coast Academy)

Errol Gulden (NSW-ACT/Sydney Academy)

Braedon Campbell (NSW-ACT/Sydney Academy)