AFL New Zealand Premiership readies for 2017

The newly formed AFL New Zealand Premiership will commence the new season on February 12th 2017.


Four teams will compete in the Premiership Season based at North Harbour Stadium with a 9 round schedule culminating in late April.

Following on from the inaugural season in 2016, the AFL New Zealand Premiership will target the inclusion of 124 talented athletes throughout New Zealand with players flying in to Auckland weekly throughout the competition.

AFLNZ Premiers Feature
2016 Premiers: Western Crows

Each team will retain 13 athletes from the previous 2016 playing lists, with the remaining players allocated selection in the four teams by way of the “AFL New Zealand National Draft”.

The appointment of coaching staff for each team is currently underway and an announcement of the leadership groups teams and the coaches who will lead them will take place over the coming weeks.

A targeted player list for the AFL New Zealand National Draft is currently being finalised and expressions of interest will be forwarded over the next week to the best available talent.

The AFL New Zealand National Draft will contain 7 different list categories on which potential participants will appear.

Watch AFL Signature

Initial confirmation of number #1 draft selections for each team will provide an exciting insight to the available talent on display.

It is seen as the perfect opportunity for a higher level competition providing an extension to the traditional regional league seasons spanning between August to December each year.  The seasons timing also provides the opportunity for coaches to utilise Australian based players within their Category 7 or “Wild Card” draft selections.



2017 AFL New Zealand Premiership Season Schedule

Round 1               February 12th 2017

Round 2               February 19th 2017

Round 3               February 26th 2017

Round 4               March 5th 2017

Round 5               March 12th 2017

Round 6               March 19th 2017

Round 7               March 26th 2017

Round 8               April 2nd 2017

Round 9               April 9th 2017


[interaction id=”57cf825eec3cf49f6e751541″]