Burnett and Jones tie for AAFL Best and Fairest

Mt Roskill Saints midfielder Tristan Burnett and Howick Hornets star Pete Jones have shared the 2020 Best and Fairest trophy after a dramatic tie at the Auckland AFL Awards on Saturday night.

One of the biggest nights on the Auckland AFL calendar of events, the awards were held at Wynyard Pavilion in Wynyard Quarter.

Jones and Burnett both polled 13 votes to win the award. Matt Dalla-Libere and Tim Stokes were join runners up on 11 votes.

North Shore Tigers key forward Justin Du Toit kicked 17 goals for the season to claim the Golden Boot award as the leading goal kicker in the competition.

Manurewa Raiders Head Coach Nonz Nellae was named as the Coach of the Year after an impressive season.

Grant Conway was awarded the Umpire of the year for the third year running after another consistent season with the whistle.

Best and Fairest: 13 votes – Tristan Burnett, Mt Roskill and Pete Jones, Howick Hornets

Runner’s Up: 11 votes – Tim Stokes, University Blues and Matt Dalla-Libere, Mt Roskill

Best first year player: Kingi Vuniyayawa, Manurewa Raiders

Coach of the year: Nonz Nellae, Manurewa Raiders

Leading Goal kicker: Justin Du Toit, North Shore Tigers

Volunteer of the year: Howard Gilbert and Mick Coultard, AAFL Women

Umpire of the year: Grant Conway

2020 All Auckland Team

Read more: