Cameron Ilett leading the way in the NEAFL

Northern Territory Thunder and New Zealand champion Cameron Ilett has taken over the lead of the NEAFL MVP Award in the final round before voting becomes withheld from the public.


The 32-year-old veteran polled the maximum 10 votes for his pivotal role in NT Thunder’s 12-point victory over Aspley on Saturday, collecting 27 disposals and six rebound 50s.

The 2011 Grogan medallist and five-time club best-and-fairest winner lead by four votes over Southport star Jordan Keras, who picked up four votes in the Sharks’ loss to Canberra at UNSW Canberra Oval.

Sydney midfielder/forward Jordan Dawson, sitting in third place, was also awarded 10 votes for his 31 disposals and four goals against the GIANTS, to sit five votes behind Keras.


The NEAFL MVP Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

The progress of the MVP voting is published on the NEAFL website for the first 16 rounds of the season, but withheld from that point on until the winner is revealed at the end of season awards night.


Story –