Canterbury AFL celebrate successful season at 2019 Awards night

One of the biggest nights on the Canterbury AFL calendar of events, the awards were held at the Redwood Tavern and the majority of the footy community attended the evening celebrating the 2019 season.


Christchurch Bulldogs and former NZ Falcon Kyle Smith took out the big gong of the Best & Fairest player in the competition after a phenomenal season.

In her first year coaching in the league, Kim Mickle took out Coach of the Year after guiding the Bulldog’s to 8 wins and only 1 loss for the season.

The Rookie of the Year went to young rising star Luke De Roo who stood out from the pack all season.


2019 Canterbury AFL award winners:


Best and Fairest: Kyle Smith, Christchurch Bulldogs

Rookie of the year: Luke De Roo, Mid Canterbury Eagles

Coach of the year: Kim Mickle, Christchurch Bulldogs

Golden Boot: Dean Cameron, Christchurch Bulldogs

Players player of the year: Jay Johnson, Eastern Blues

Coaches player of the year: Reuben Burke, Mid Canterbury Eagles

Volunteer of the year: Adam Clarke, University Cougars


Image – Mattylouis Photography