Canterbury stars to remain at the Crows

Canterbury stars Sam Burdett, Brad Mavor and Jed Willliams have all been retained by the Western Crows for the 2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership.


The pair were retained under Category 2 of the Retained Players List (RPL).

RPL 2 is the Retention of regional based players. (Up to 5 players retained).

Read more: 2019 AFLNZ Premiership retained players list explained


Sam Burdett

Key defender Sam Burdett has played in two regions within New Zealand representing Waitakere Magpies within the Auckland competition before moving to Christchurch and competing in the Canterbury AFL.

The Cantabrian has played a big role for the Crows over the past three seasons and showed through consistent performances why he is one of the best defenders in the country.

Burdett is a smart key defender who uses his knowledge of the game to beat his opponents.


Brad Mavor

Cantabrian Brad ‘Monster’ Mavor is the midfielder every team wants to have.

After a stunning debut season in the 2017 Premiership, the key forward Brad was selected in the ‘Team of the Year’ and followed that up with selection in the New Zealand national side to play the AFL academy in April.

His form continued over into 2018 where he starred for the Crows in the middle of the ground.

The 24 year old won 2017 Canterbury AFL Premiership with the Christchurch Bulldogs and has made the switch to University Cougars in 2018.


Jed Williams

The third player to be retained and also from Canterbury is Jed Williams.

Williams had a standout debut season for the Crows in 2018, playing mainly off the half back flank.

Jed plays for the Eastern Blues Football Club in the Canterbury AFL and is a strong, versatile player who plays a number of key positions around the ground.

Known for his long accurate kick and a great team player, Williams will be hoping he and his fellow retained players can lead the Crows back to Premiership glory in 2019.


Read more:

Future talent retained by the Saints

Sullivan and Rhodes retained by reigning premiers

Suns retain Dickinson and Scarf-Matthews for 2019

Giants retain Golden Boot and key defender for 2019 Premiership

Saints retain Sucu and Donnell-Brown for 2019 Premiership

Boyce to Captain Saints for record fourth season

2018 Best and Fairest to guide the Crows

McKenzie determined to go back to back with Giants in 2019

Mundell named head coach of the Western Crows

Congalton returns to lead the Southern Saints

Northern Suns name new head coach for 2019

Premiership coach signs on for 2019

2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership to include Grand Final

AFLNZ Premiership brings exciting changes for 2019 season

Millennium to host AFL New Zealand Premiership Grand Final Breakfast

AFLW Boundary Rules to be trialled in AFL New Zealand Premiership