Cobras reveal strong NPC squad

Canterbury AFL have revealed a strong NPC squad for this year’s competition which is to be held at QBE Stadium in Auckland on the weekend of December 9th and 10th. 


The Cobra’s finished third in the 2016 NPC behind Auckland and Wellington and new head coach Izaak Williams has put good measures in place to ensure that they will be a force once again in 2017.

“The squad is shaping up well with International Cup NZ squad member Jay Johnson captaining the side. We have a good mix of experience, NZ representatives and first year players to AFL. Watch out for big Ruckman Shaun Owen and speedster Kieran Butler. Currently, we have 10 AFL New Zealand Premiership players from last year in the squad and will hopefully grow this list for next years competition.”

Canterbury have held the title of National Provincial Champions of four of the past six tournaments including a three year winning streak from 2010 to 2012.

Congratulations to those named in the squad.

Full Name
Adam Clarke
Brad Mavor
Dan Benny
David Cook
Dean Cameron
Dean Smith
Garrett Beck
Henry Boon
Jacob Edy
Jacob Van Maanen
James Bowden
Jamie Exeter
Jay Johnson
Jed Williams
Keegan Wilson
Kieran Butler
Kyle Smith
Matthew Smith
Nathan Hayes
Nick Rhodes
Preston Kerr
Ryan O'Sullivan
Reuben Burke
Reuben Edy
Samuel Burdett
Sam Traynor
Sean Butler
Shaun Harrington
Shaun Owen
Steve Ferres
Tobias Foley

Story – Canterbury AFL