Draft round up: Landy to rise with the Suns

The Northern Suns have selected University Blues ruckman as their number 1 draft pick at the National Draft as they set out to win the 2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership, kicking off on February 17th at QBE Stadium in Auckland. 


The 2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership squad will also feature the exciting AFLNZ Academy graduate Liam Mayes and fitness machine Paul Hogan from Canterbury.


Category 1: Liam Mayes

Position: Forward

AFL New Zealand Academy graduate Liam Mayes has been drafted by the Northern Suns for the 2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership.

Having been involved in the high performance pathway over the past couple of years, Mayes is rapidly developing into an all-round footballer.

Mayes plays for the North Shore Tigers in the Auckland AFL and is a very exciting young talent to keep an eye out for next season.


Category 2: Patrick Landy

Position: Ruck

It has been a big week for Aucklander Patrick Landy.

Five days ago, he won the Auckland AFL Premiership with the University Blues and also collected the ‘Wells Medal’ for best on ground. 

At the National Draft last night, Landy was picked at number 1 by the Northern Suns.

The tall ruckman has been a revelation for the University Blues this season and will link up with fellow Suns squad member and captain Ben Hick in 2019. 


Category 3: Paul Hogan

Position: Defender

Eastern Blues key defender Paul Hogan will line up for the Northern Suns in 2019.

Hogan has a background in Gaelic Football and has transitioned into the sport of AFL with ease.

Normally positioned at Centre Half Back, Hogan is very fit and mobile and reads the game well.

A strong mark and a great attitude are Paul’s best attributes and will link in well with Suns stalwart Pete Rodgers.


Read more:

Central Giants Player Profiles

Northern Suns Player Profiles

Western Crows Player Profiles

Southern Saints Player Profiles

Phantom Draft: Who will be number 1?

Hutt Valley Eagles Coach joins the Premiership

Awatere, Kempt and Allen stay at the Suns

Canterbury stars to remain at the Crows

Saints superstar back for 2019

Suns snare Bailey as they retain Rogers and White

Giants lock in speed and skill

Reigning Premiers retain big names

Crows retain Tucker, Copeland and Maisey

Saints retain key position players for 2019 season

Suns strike as they retain regional stars

Crows secure 2018 Player of the Year

Future talent retained by the Saints

Sullivan and Rhodes retained by reigning premiers

Suns retain Dickinson and Scarf-Matthews for 2019

Giants retain Golden Boot and key defender for 2019 Premiership

Saints retain Sucu and Donnell-Brown for 2019 Premiership

Boyce to Captain Saints for record fourth season

2018 Best and Fairest to guide the Crows

McKenzie determined to go back to back with Giants in 2019

Mundell named head coach of the Western Crows

Congalton returns to lead the Southern Saints

Northern Suns name new head coach for 2019

Premiership coach signs on for 2019

2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership to include Grand Final

AFLNZ Premiership brings exciting changes for 2019 season

Millennium to host AFL New Zealand Premiership Grand Final Breakfast

AFLW Boundary Rules to be trialled in AFL New Zealand Premiership