Heatherley posts second fastest 20m time at AFL Combine

CALDER Cannons speedster Adam Saad left his rivals eating dust on day two of the NAB AFL Draft Combine, posting the quickest time in the 20m sprint test.

Adam Saad in action during the 2012 draft combine at Etihad Stadium
Adam Saad in action during the 2012 draft combine at Etihad Stadium

Saad, no relation to St Kilda’s Ahmed Saad, recorded a time of 2.81sec in the sprint, with New Zealander and Hawthorn scholarship player Kurt Heatherley the next best with 2.84sec – an impressive effort given his 192cm frame.

The record for the test at the national combine is 2.75sec, which was set by Gold Coast rookie Joel Wilkinson in 2010.

Mature-aged prospects Leigh Osborne and Dean Towers also enhanced their chances of being selected at the NAB AFL Draft with their respective times of 2.86sec and 2.89sec, placing them inside the top six.

Queensland tall forward Jordon Bourke pushed his case to be taken as a zone selection by Gold Coast with a time of 2.92sec the day after he was told that Geelong had opted not to pick him up via the father-son rule.

Towers and Osborne backed up those performances over 20m with a strong showing in the repeat sprint test with their respective times of 24.48sec and 24.74sec, placing them inside the top four runners.

“Both are potential success stories from the VFL, which is great to see,” AFL national talent manager Kevin Sheehan said.

“They’ve presented themselves in outstanding fashion right through all of the power testing so far. I think they will have really improved their chances in the draft with their performances today.”

The repeat sprint test requires participants to complete six 30m sprints.

Northern Knight Matthew Haynes and WA tall defender Harrison Marsh ranked first and second respectively in the test.

The agility test was the third major assessment of the day with potential Western Bulldogs father-son recruit Lachie Hunter leading the field home with a time of 8.00sec, ahead of Tasmanian Jesse Lonergan (8.25sec), while Irishman Emmett Bradley impressed with a time of 8.31sec.

Fremantle’s Stephen Hill set a high mark of 7.77sec in the agility test in 2008.

20m Sprint (secs)
Adam Saad – 2.81
Kurt Heatherley – 2.84
Leigh Osborne – 2.86
Matthew Dick – 2.88
Matthew Haynes – 2.89
Dean Towers – 2.89
Aiden Corr – 2.89
Clay Cameron – 2.91
Jordon Bourke – 2.92
Cameron Banfield – 2.93
Jarrod Stokes – 2.93

Agility (secs)

Lachie Hunter – 8.00
Jesse Lonergan – 8.25
Tim O’Brien – 8.30
Jordon Bourke – 8.30
Emmett Bradley – 8.31
Zac Williams – 8.32
Laine Wilkins – 8.33
Mason Wood – 8.35
Jason Ashby – 8.36
Jason Pongracic – 8.36

Repeat Sprint (secs)

Matthew Haynes – 23.91
Harrison Marsh – 24.32
Dean Towers – 24.48
Leigh Osborne – 24.74
Joshua Kelly – 24.91
Tim Broomhead – 24.98
Jesse Lonergan – 25.12
Gideon Simon – 25.18
Dominic Barry – 25.19
Tim O’Brien – 25.19