Hornet claims back to back B&F’s at Auckland AFL awards night

Howick Hornets midfielder Jay Green has claimed back to back Auckland AFL Best & Fairest awards as the best player in the competition. 


One of the biggest nights on the Auckland AFL calendar of events, the awards were held at Wynyard Pavilion and had over 100 attend the evening celebrating the 2019 season.

Green polled 25 votes to claim the Best and Fairest over runner up Ben Hick from the University Blues.

Hornets ruckman Blake Waters took out the best first year player after he impressed the league with his ability to match it with the best.

University Blues key forward James Considine kicked 31 goals for the season to claim the Golden Boot award as the leading goal kicker in the competition.

Tim Stevens was awarded the Umpire of the year for the third year running after another consistent season with the whistle.



2019 Auckland AFL award winners:


Best and Fairest: 25 votes – Jay Green, Howick Hornets

Runner Up: 15 votes – Ben Hick, University Blues

Third place: 13 votes – Tristan Burnett, Mt Roskill Saints

Best first year player: Blake Waters, Howick Hornets

Coach of the year: Chris Mundell, University Blues

Leading Goal kicker: James Considine, University Blues

Volunteer of the year: Peter Boyce, Mt Roskill Saints and Steve Allen, Waitakere Magpies

Umpire of the year: Tim Stevens


2019 All Auckland team


Story –  AAFL.co.nz