James Kusel takes out top award in Wellington league

New Zealand and Hutt Valley Eagles superstar, James Kusel has taken out the 2018 Wellington Best and Fairest award after a dominant season in the Wellington league. 


Following the 2018 Grand Final in which the Wellington City Saints took out the title, players and coaches from all the teams headed to the Stop Out Clubrooms for the end of season awards presentations.

Young gun Doug McJorrow backed up his AFL New Zealand Rising Star award to take out the Wellington equivalent after an impressive season for the Wellington City Saints.

Congratulations to all awards recipients, and the All-Wellington Team:

League MVP: James Kusel (HV Eagles) – 26 votes.

Leading Goal Scorer: James Terry (ES Bulldogs) – 29 goals.

Rising Star (under 18): Doug McJorrow (WC Saints)

Margaret Lavery Award (Volunteer of the Year): Donna Gill – Demons Manager


2018 All-Wellington Team:

Full Backs: Alex Awatere (Demons), Pat Lovelock (Eagles), Adam Moore (Saints)

Half Backs: Sam Sherring (Eagles), Andrew Gavaghan (Saints), Andrew Bissett (Saints)

Centres: Blake Neve (Bulldogs), Tom Robby (Bulldogs), Tayne Lockwood (Demons)

On Ball: Peter Halstead (Bulldogs), Jalan Farris (Eagles), Stanley Chung (Bulldogs)

Half Forwards: James Sharp (Bulldogs), James Kusel (Eagles), Will Kempt (Saints)

Full Forwards: Phil Wakefield (Bulldogs), Luke Vincent (Eagles), James Terry (Bulldogs)

Interchange: Ray Turner (Eagles), Luke Shervey (Bulldogs), Michael Martinez (Bulldogs), Coby Dodd (Saints), Doug McJorrow (Saints), Paul Willis (Bulldogs)


Story – Wellington AFL