Jay Green crowned 2019 Premiership Best and Fairest

Western Crows midfielder Jay Green has claimed the award for the best player in the 2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership after a magnificent season for the Premiership winning side.


The announcement was made at the 2019 Premiership Grand Final Breakfast on Sunday morning at AUT Millennium.

The votes were awarded by the Umpires following each game throughout with best on ground receiving 4 votes.

The ball magnet from the Western Crows polled 22 votes to claim the Best and Fairest over runner up Michael Boyce from the Southern Saints who finished on 21.

Trailing by 3 votes in the final round, Green had a best on ground performance in round 8 against the Southern Saints polling 4 votes to take the title.

Picked in the first round of the 2018 National Draft, Jay Green has been a consistent standout player all season.

A great runner of the football, Jay is small in stature but he has a massive impact on the field popping up all over the ground.

Jay also holds the award for Auckland AFL best and fairest which he won in 2018.

Past winners include Brandon Sucu (2016), Andriu Sucu (2017) from the Southern Saints and Jay Johnson from the Western Crows in 2018.


2019 Best and Fairest results:

1st: Jay Green (Western Crows) – 22 votes

2nd: Michael Boyce (Southern Saints) – 21 votes

3rd equal: Tyson Schmid (Central Giants) and Tristan Burnett (Central Giants) – 9  votes


Team Best and Fairest results:

Western Crows: Jay Green

Southern Saints: Andriu Sucu

Northern Suns: Paul Hogan

Central Giants: Tyson Schmid