Johnson set to lead the Western Crows

New Zealand onballer, Jay Johnson has been named the Captain of the Western Crows for the 2018 AFL New Zealand Premiership.


The Eastern Blues midfielder takes over the role of Captain from fellow Cantabrian Jared Court, who led the side to the inaugural AFL New Zealand Premiership back in 2016.

The Crows retained Johnson through Category 4 of the Retained Players List (RPL): Regionally based New Zealand Representative (Christchurch/ Dunedin/ Wellington).

The 25 year old has been a pivotal squad member for the Crows over the past 2 seasons with his endurance running, smooth ball skills and calm demeanour make him stand out in every game.

Johnson was named the Crows Best and Fairest winner in 2016 and was also a member in both the 2016 and 2017 AFL New Zealand Premiership ‘Team of the Year’ announced at the at the annual High Performance awards in Wellington.

“I’m extremely excited to be Captaining the Western Crows for the 2018 season. We have a great group of core players and am looking forward to seeing what players we pick up in this year’s National Draft”

Jay appeared in the New Zealand squad for this year’s International Cup, his highlight coming in the Grand Final where he took an outstanding mark followed by kicking a goal on the MCG.

First representing New Zealand in 2011, Jay was introduced to the game by former AFL New Zealand representative and current New Zealand Sevens All Blacks team member, Sam Dickson.

Read more:

Izaak Williams to coach the Central Giants

Southern Saints Coach after consistency

Former NZ Captain to Coach Crows

Key midfielders retained by the Crows for 2018 Premiership

Northern Suns coach to return in 2018

Youth competition breeds Premiership Talent

Howie on the road to recovery ahead of National Draft

Jones to enter National Draft after rapid rise

Saints set sights on 2020

Magpies young gun joins the National Draft

National Draft to feature Rapid Raiders star

Who will Stay? Who will go?

2018 AFLNZ Premiership retained players list explained

Josh Mackie to receive AFL New Zealand scholarship

2018 AFLNZ Premiership back with a bang