Max Gawn and Mark Blicavs earn AFL All Australian Selection

Melbourne captain Max Gawn has been selected for the sixth time in his career, the most of anyone in this particular cohort, with three other Demons – Steven May, Clayton Oliver and Christian Petracca – also chosen.

Hawkins has been selected at full-forward in a side that includes an AFL-high five Cats players, with teammates Tom Stewart, Jeremy Cameron, Tyson Stengle and Mark Blicavs also included.

Carlton (Cripps, Adam Saad and Charlie Curnow) and Sydney (Callum Mills and Isaac Heeney) are the only other teams to have multiple players selected, with 12 clubs overall featuring.

More than half of this year’s team are first-time inclusions; Shai Bolton, Andrew BrayshawBrayden Maynard, Connor RozeeJack Sinclair, Sam Taylor, Blicavs, Curnow, Heeney, Mills, Saad and Stengle have all earned their first blazers.

There are also seven players who have been retained from the 2021 outfit with Gawn, Hawkins, May, Oliver, Petracca, Stewart and Touk Miller all making it back-to-back selections.

The AFL released a 44-man squad on Monday, with Hawthorn defender James Sicily and Richmond’s 60-goal forward Tom Lynch among the most notable players to miss the final cut.

Full Story – AFL