Nominees for 2018 AFL New Zealand Female Player of the year

AFL New Zealand would like to congratulate the following nominees for the 2018 AFL New Zealand Female Player of the Year. 


The winner will be announced at the 2018 High Performance Awards which will be held on Sunday the 22nd of April at Mac’s Function Centre in Wellington.


Congratulations to all the nominees!


Ceyan Drollet

Ceyan Drollet is a hard running, committed midfielder who impressed in her debut for the AFL New Zealand Youth Girls during the 2017 ANZAC Campaign.

Ceyan attends Howick College in East Auckland and was named best on ground in game 2 against the Mornington Peninsula Youth Girls.


Chelsea Young

Chelsea Young has a high passion and commitment to AFL as she travels over three hours each week to be apart of the AFL New Zealand Youth Competition and Academy.

A winner of the Greater Auckland Girls AFL Cup Secondary School Competitoin with Pukekohe High School, Chelsea is fast and hard at the contest.


Jaimee Wyatt

Jaimee Wyatt attends Westlake Girls High School and is now in her third year playing AFL.

An all round athlete, Jaimee has been selected to represent New Zealand for Tasmania in the AFLW National Youth Girls Champs in 2018 after showing potential over the past 12 months.


Jolyn Collins

Jolyn was the Co-Captain alongside Killarney Morey for the 2017 New Zealand Youth Girls campaign in Wellington and has terrific leadership skills.

She achieved a best on ground award during the campaign and was a key contributor to the squad that became the first New Zealand side to defeat a Australian side in a series.

Jolyn is a pioneer for Women’s AFL in NZ being the first New Zealander to play in the Australian Youth Girls Championships where she represented Tasmania in 2016.


Killarney Morey

Killarney Morey from Epsom Girls Grammar in Auckland was Co-Captain of the New Zealand Youth Girls in 2017 and awarded Best on Ground against the Mornington Peninsula Youth Girls in their first game at Hutt Park.

Killarney was selected by AFL New Zealand and Tasmania to represent the state at the 2017 AFLW National Youth Girls Champs in Adelaide and is only the second Kiwi to do so.