Northern Suns land big names for 2019

The Northern Suns have utilised their two priority picks in the national draft to secure the big names of Matt Kemp and Vandyn Hartman from the Western Crows for the 2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership. 


Under the ruling of the Retained Player List (RPL) Category 3, it states:

Each Premiership side will be able to retain up to five Auckland based players (if a Premiership side cannot supply the required amount of players from the 2018 season, a Priority Draft Pick will be allocated to rectify this.)

Matt Kemp

A stalwart in New Zealand footy, Matt Kemp is still one of the top players in the country.

Playing for the Mt Roskill Saints in the Auckland AFL, Kemp’s main attributes are his skills and endurance.

A former winner of the Premiership Pre-Season 3km Time Trial, Kemp finds a new home at the Sun’s as they push for their first Premiership.


Vandyn Hartman

Vandyn ‘Diesel’ Hartman has been picked up by the Northern Suns for the 2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership.

The 2011 AFL International Cup squad member made his debut in the 2018 Premiership but has a rich history of playing AFL in New Zealand.

Vandyn plays for the Manurewa Raiders in the Auckland AFL and is a tough midfielder which great skills who can run all day.

Hartman will now join a formidable midfield where he will link up key players Ben Hick, Liam Beattie and Will Dickinson.


Read more:

Awatere, Kempt and Allen stay at the Suns

Canterbury stars to remain at the Crows

Saints superstar back for 2019

Suns snare Bailey as they retain Rogers and White

Giants lock in speed and skill

Reigning Premiers retain big names

Crows retain Tucker, Copeland and Maisey

Saints retain key position players for 2019 season

Suns strike as they retain regional stars

Crows secure 2018 Player of the Year

Future talent retained by the Saints

Sullivan and Rhodes retained by reigning premiers

Suns retain Dickinson and Scarf-Matthews for 2019

Giants retain Golden Boot and key defender for 2019 Premiership

Saints retain Sucu and Donnell-Brown for 2019 Premiership

Boyce to Captain Saints for record fourth season

2018 Best and Fairest to guide the Crows

McKenzie determined to go back to back with Giants in 2019

Mundell named head coach of the Western Crows

Congalton returns to lead the Southern Saints

Northern Suns name new head coach for 2019

Premiership coach signs on for 2019

2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership to include Grand Final

AFLNZ Premiership brings exciting changes for 2019 season

Millennium to host AFL New Zealand Premiership Grand Final Breakfast

AFLW Boundary Rules to be trialled in AFL New Zealand Premiership