NPC returns to the Capital in 2016

The 2016 AFL New Zealand National Provincial Championships will be held in Wellington, on the 10th and 11th of December.


The venue for all matches will be Hutt Park. Each team will play one game on Saturday the 10th, and two games on Sunday the 11th.

The current NPC Champions are Canterbury, having won four of the past five tournaments including a three year Canterbury winning streak from 2010 to 2012.

The Auckland squad will feature a large contingent of New Zealand representative players, who played for the Hawks in April this year.

However, Canterbury will also be very strong, with a squad that involves their own group of Senior New Zealand representatives.

Wellington will have home advantage, and will be able to call on local knowledge of the conditions in the capital, which can at times be wild and windy.

Otago will also be competing, and while they are yet to register an NPC win, their strength and depth is growing, which was seen in the 2016 AFL New Zealand Premiership where a number of players from the region were unearthed including tournament leading goal kicker Reyne Westbury.