NZ to play Nauru, Canada, Fiji and Ireland at IC17

New Zealand will take on Nauru, Canada, Fiji and Ireland as they strive to run out on the MCG in the 2017 International Cup Grand Final in Melbourne.


For the first time the men’s fixture will be played across two divisions. Division One will play four matches against other teams within the division and will then be ranked from one to 10 with grand finals to follow between the top two placed teams on the ladder, the third and fourth placed teams and so on.

“With no semi finals in Division One, points differential will play a big part in the campaign” New Zealand Assistant Coach Chris Mundell.

Head of Community & International Development, Grant Williams said that the AFL was looking forward to welcoming the players, coaches and officials from the 18 men’s teams and eight women’s teams to Melbourne to participate in the International Cup.

“The men’s divisional structure has been created based on past performances in an attempt to produce a competition that is as even as possible and to provide the best development opportunity for all teams and players,”.

“We are also thrilled to have eight women’s teams competing in 2017.”

“The International Cup is about bringing people together and is an opportunity to promote our great game and support its growth within the international community.”

The women’s grand final is to be played at Etihad Stadium as a curtain-raiser to the Round 22 clash between Carlton and Hawthorn. While the men’s grand final is to be played at the MCG as a curtain-raiser to the Round 22 match between Collingwood and the Geelong Cats.

The majority of the matches will be played at Royal Park in Parkville with the Community Round to be played as curtain-raisers to local suburban, amateur and country matches. For the first time the International Cup has introduced a School Round on Wednesday August 9 with games to be played in suburban and country schools.

The 2017 AFL International Cup marks the sixth edition of the competition.

The AFL International Cup is played every three years. No expatriate Australians are eligible to play. Teams comprise solely of amateurs who must be nationals of the country they represent.


Round 1 – Sunday 6th of August

New Zealand vs Nauru

Venue: Ransford Oval, Royal Park

Time: 3.45pm


Round 2 – Wednesday 9th of August

New Zealand vs Fiji

Venue: Linen House, Seaford

Time: 12.30pm


Round 3 – Saturday 12th of August

New Zealand vs Canada

Venue: Waverley Blues Football Club

Time: 12.30pm


Round 4 – Tuesday 15th of August

New Zealand vs Ireland

Venue: Ransford Oval, Royal Park

Time: 12.15pm