Premiership players return to the track ahead of season opener

AFL New Zealand Premiership players from across the country are preparing to head back to the training track ahead of the 2020 competition which is set to kick off on February 9th at North Harbour Stadium in Albany, Auckland.


The players from Northland, Auckland, Hamilton, Bay of Plenty, Wellington, Canterbury and Otago will get underway on Wednesday the 22nd of January.

With less than a month before round 1, each region will focus on a specific training programme created by AFL New Zealand High Performance management staff.

Can the Western Crows become the first side to go back to back?

Four teams will compete in the Premiership Season based at North Harbour Stadium on Auckland’s North Shore with a 9 round schedule culminating in late April.

The AFL New Zealand Premiership includes talented athletes throughout New Zealand with players flying in to Auckland weekly throughout the competition.

The competition is seen as the perfect opportunity for a higher level competition providing an extension to the traditional regional league seasons spanning between August to December each year.


2020 AFL New Zealand Premiership Season Schedule

Round 1               February 9th

Round 2               February 16th

Round 3              February 23rd

Round 4               March 1st

Round 5               March 8th

Round 6               March 15th

Round 7               March 22nd

Round 8               March 29th

Grand Final          April 5th