Premiership sides eye top ruckman in National Draft

Former Southern Saints and current North Shore Tigers (Auckland AFL) ruckman Tyler Paull will return to the AFL New Zealand Premiership in 2019 via the National Draft which takes place in November this year.


The 24 year old spent a year away from the game last season and will return to play for one of the four Premiership sides which will be determined at the National Draft.

Standing at 198cm, Paull was a key player for the Southern Saints during the 2017 season and played a big role in helping the team win their maiden Premiership.

His background in the sport of Volleyball gives him a clear advantage over the opposition when it comes to vertical leap and boasts some handy skills with football in hand.

Paull is gearing up for a big Premiership season in 2019 and would slot in nicely back at the Saints if the other sides don’t get to him first.

New Zealand selectors are aware of his talent and will keep one eye on the ruckman for a possible call up to the senior squad for future international campaigns.

The National Draft will take place late November.

Tyler Paull (back left) was a member of the Southern Saints Premiership winning side in 2017.


Read more:

Hornets star enters the National Draft

Crows secure rising star for 2019 Premiership

Suns retain Dickinson and Scarf-Matthews for 2019

Giants retain Golden Boot and key defender for 2019 Premiership

Saints retain Sucu and Donnell-Brown for 2019 Premiership

Boyce to Captain Saints for record fourth season

2018 Best and Fairest to guide the Crows

McKenzie determined to go back to back with Giants in 2019

Mundell named head coach of the Western Crows

Congalton returns to lead the Southern Saints

Northern Suns name new head coach for 2019

Premiership coach signs on for 2019

2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership to include Grand Final

AFLNZ Premiership brings exciting changes for 2019 season

Millennium to host AFL New Zealand Premiership Grand Final Breakfast

AFLW Boundary Rules to be trialled in AFL New Zealand Premiership