Saints name extended leadership group

Southern Saints captain Jay Johnson will be supported by Hayden Johnston, Josh Robles-McGill, Henry Russell and Lachie McBride in the 2024 AFL New Zealand Premiership.

Hayden, Josh and Henry were all in the leadership group last year and have been involved in the premiership for a number of years.

Lachie McBride is a new addition to the leadership group and becomes the youngest players to be named in any leadership group for the Men’s Premiership. Lachie was a Leader for the Christchurch Bulldogs throughout the Canterbury AFL 2023 season and was also the Captain of the New Zealand U18’s side in their trip to Australia earlier this year. The Saints Coaching staff believe his inclusion in the leadership group is the perfect way for Lachie to develop not only as a player, but as a leader as well.

The Saints kick off their premiership campaign at home in Christchurch, February 25th 2024