Sensational Bulldogs claim 2021 Women’s Premiership

The Bulldogs have lifted the 2021 Premiership trophy after producing a stunning game in the Grand Final, beating the Magpies by 34 points at North Harbour Stadium.

It was a even contest despite the score line and the match started at a fast and frenetic pace. It was the Bulldogs who were the first on the score sheet, when Te Rina Taite kicked their first goal early in the game.

The Bulldogs were hard on attack for most of the first half but could only manage 2 goals. This was put down to a best on ground performance from Magpies fullback Jess McCormick who was phenomenal for the entire game.

Sam Bramwell and Kate Mclaughlin were superb for the winning side. Both players had the upper hand in the midfield and were always pushing the ball into their forward line.

Buell Verkade and Alice Roy got the Magpies moving forward in the third term but were unable to narrow the deficit and convert on the scoreboard.

Bulldogs forwards, Kristin Farrell and Makenna Jones kicked 3 goals between them in the final term to secure the 34 point victory and claim the 2021 Premiership for the first time.

Bulldogs head coach, Mick Coultard was not only thrilled at the result but praised the entire group on what was a terrific season.

“Today was a great celebration of Women’s footy in NZ. Both sides gave it their all and it’s just exciting to see such good footy played by both teams.”

The Women’s Premiership will return in 2022 with some exciting new editions as the game continues to grow around the country.

AFL New Zealand would like to thank the following organisations and people who helped achieve what was a fantastic competition.

Goal Scorers:

Bulldogs: Kristin Farrell 2, Te Rina Taite 2, Mere Mansell 1, Makenna Jones 1

Magpies: Luzette Hermon 1

Best on ground:

Jess McCormick – Magpies