Suns strike as they retain regional stars

AFL New Zealand Premiership side, the Northern Suns have announced that they have retained regional based players Liam Beattie and Josh Mackie for the 2019 season.


The pair were retained under Category 2 of the Retained Players List (RPL).

RPL 2 is the Retention of regional based players. (Up to 5 players retained).

Read more: 2019 AFLNZ Premiership retained players list explained


Liam Beattie

Liam Beattie will once again be apart of the Northern Suns Premiership team in 2019.

Based in the Waikato, the inaugural Northern Suns Best and Fairest had a consistent last 18 months playing against the AFL Academy in Wellington before being awarded the most consistent player for New Zealand at the 2017 International Cup.

A current member of the University Blues in the Auckland competition, Beattie’s strength over the ball and in tight contests provides his team with first use of the football.


Josh Mackie

Otago based Josh Mackie has gone from strength to strength over the past two years.

His performance in the 2017 AFL New Zealand Premiership didn’t go unnoticed when New Zealand Senior Head Coach Rob Malone included him in the NZ squad for the ANZAC and International Cup campaigns.

Mackie was one of the Suns top players during the 2018 season and went on to Captain the NZ under 18 side in their historic victory during their Melbourne campaign when they defeated a representative side from the Mornington Peninsula Junior Football League in May.


Read more:

Future talent retained by the Saints

Sullivan and Rhodes retained by reigning premiers

Suns retain Dickinson and Scarf-Matthews for 2019

Giants retain Golden Boot and key defender for 2019 Premiership

Saints retain Sucu and Donnell-Brown for 2019 Premiership

Boyce to Captain Saints for record fourth season

2018 Best and Fairest to guide the Crows

McKenzie determined to go back to back with Giants in 2019

Mundell named head coach of the Western Crows

Congalton returns to lead the Southern Saints

Northern Suns name new head coach for 2019

Premiership coach signs on for 2019

2019 AFL New Zealand Premiership to include Grand Final

AFLNZ Premiership brings exciting changes for 2019 season

Millennium to host AFL New Zealand Premiership Grand Final Breakfast

AFLW Boundary Rules to be trialled in AFL New Zealand Premiership