Junior Hawks Cup Wellington Cluster Results

Wellington’s 2012 Junior Hawks Cup was contested by tournament regulars Hutt Valley High School (reigning champs), Onslow College (inaugural champs) and Wellington College. The matches this year were played at Wakefield Park in surprisingly good conditions.

Game 1:

Wellington College                    34         Onslow College                         17

Hawks Cup 2012 started with a bang as Onslow College took on Wellington College. From the start Wellington College played with a plan and were particularly dominant around stoppages. Onslow defended well in the last line but Wellington ran out winners of game 1 and earned themselves as rest. Onslow lined up for game 2.

Game 2:

Hutt Valley High                        21         Onslow College                         11

Game 2 was a more physical affair as Hutt Valley High School (HVHS) clearly came to play. HVHS got the jump on Onslow, showing skill and speed to match their physical intensity and hitting the scoreboard many times in the first half. Onslow changed tactics after half-time, taking on board the messages from their coach and won the half but it wasn’t enough to reign in Hutt Valley who won the game by 10 points.

Game 3:

Wellington College                    58         Hutt Valley High                        3

The final match effectively became a final the winner likely to be named Wellington champion for 2012. Wellington started fast with 2 quick goals, but HVHS ramped up their speed and physicality and hit back. This game was played with both physical intensity and a high degree of skill, with some linking passages of play looking more like rep footy than school teams with limited preparation. The scores see-sawed but late in the second half Wellington got on top and ran out winners.

Wellington College are worthy winners of the title in 2012.

Overall, there was a high standard of football at Wakefield Park, played in a good spirit and enjoyed by players and officials alike. Thanks to the parents, teachers and schools for turning out such fine young men and thanks too to the teams coaches – Shannon Wall at Wellington College, Kade Riddell at Hutt Valley High School and the team of Jay Kealy and Fletcher Barclay at Onslow College.

Thanks again to AFL New Zealand and the Hawthorn Football Club for providing these opportunities.