Wider Under 16 NZ Hawks Squad Named

The wider training squad for the Under 16 New Zealand Hawks for the South Pacific Cup has been named.

From an initial selection of 30 players, the squad will be reduced to a travelling team of 24. 

Under 16 New Zealand Hawks – Wider Training Squad

Te ReiClarkWhangarei Boys High School
Te KopaTipene-ThomasBay of Islands College
KalibLewisAorere College
FrancisPedersenSt Patrick’s College, Kilbirnie
Willemvander Wilt Wellington College
ChristianBlackieOtago Boys High School
SiopeNgataAorere College
NathanLenihanSt Patrick’s College, Silverstream
LiamCaldwellWhangarei Boys High School
BenArmstrongBay of Islands College
AlexAwatereAotea College
JirahMomoiseaSt Pauls College
Utusa’itoaAh KuoiWellington College
NathanPetiDargaville High School
CarlosDonnell-BrownGreenbay High School
DannyO’CallaghanGreen Bay High School
BraydenHerewiniRongotai College
JamesWatkinsWellington College
IsraelIrvingDargaville High School
SouthenSmithBay of Islands College
VianceVanoSt Pauls College
KalebForde – Fraser Otago Boys High School
SamGreenWellington College
NaitoaAh KuoiWellington College
NathanCurranRosmini College
TybergMauafuaMission Heights Junior College
ConnorMcGeoughSt Patrick’s College, Silverstream
Christian-JordanTupouSt Pauls College
JackMathesonSt Patrick’s College, Silverstream
PhoenixCullenNorthcote College

Head Coach: Mick Coultard – Auckland

Assistant Coach: Shannon Wall – Wellington

Assistant Coach: Mike Gregson – Auckland

Team Manager: Ken Ah Kuoi – Wellington

Physiotherapist: Zak Nichols – Wellington


For many players, the South Pacific Cup will be their first experience of International AFL. The South Pacific Cup takes place in Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, and features the best Under 16 AFL players from the region.

The players were selected after strong performances at the AFL New Zealand Under 16 National Championships. Squad member Te Kopa Tipene-Thomas was declared the overall Best and Fairest at this tournament. Tipene-Thomas has previously represented New Zealand, as part of the Under 16 New Zealand Hawks team that took on the AFL Flying Boomerangs in 2013.

Carlos Donnell-Brown and Brayden Herewini, both part of the squad, were named Best and Fairest winners for their respective teams at the Under 16 National Championships.

Another inclusion in the squad is Hawthorn Hawks International Scholarship holder Siope Ngata. Ngata is the sole member of the squad who has represented New Zealand at Under 16, Under 18 and Senior level.

Scouts from professional AFL clubs take a keen interest in the South Pacific Cup. For players, opportunities exist to be seen by scouts, and to secure an AFL International Scholarship.