Rising Star

The AFL New Zealand Rising Star award will be awarded weekly to a standout young player in the AFL New Zealand Premiership.

Each week the award will be allocated to those who show ability that favours the core components it takes to become an AFL Player.

To be eligible to be nominated for the award, a player must be born in 2004 or younger.


2021 Rising Star

Round 1: 199cm Suns ruckman is a star on the rise

Round 2: Canterbury Saint claims round 2 Rising Star

Round 3: Round Cancelled, due to Covid-19 restrictions

Round 4: Young Crow flies high to take round 4 rising star

Round 5: Canterbury Academy star named round 5 Rising Star

Round 6:

Round 7:

Rising Star Honours Board

1William WarbrickJake TuckerDaniel HowieKenta UkitaRyan Awatere
2James WatkinsSebastian SerranoManny SnooksDoug McJorrowReef Bainbridge
3Ben ArmstrongClayton WaltersEthan HaltonXavier BryhamTyrone Stubbs
4Alastair MaiseyCarlos Donnell-BrownJevaan CroftJonah ChristiansRonan Morling
5Misilifi FaimaloWilliam KemptFinn MoffatCaleb MacPhersonLuke De Roo
6Joseph Alesich-TamarikiJames DakinSam AndersonBrad MaloneyLuke Lentner
7Heta Scarf-MatthewsDeclan CrannBraedyn CollinsDaniel McCarthy-
8Dawson NanaiBlake NahuBlake WilliamsonThomas Turner-
9Josh MackieIsaac PiperLuke Williams--