AFL Junior Secondary School South Island Championships Review

St Bede’s College have emerged victorious in the AFL Junior Secondary School South Island Championships.

The tournament saw two teams from Otago Boys High School enter, and play to a high standard, along with a team each from St Bede’s College and Burnside High School.

In the first round, it was the Cantabrian schools who dominated. St Bede’s College beat Otago BHS 1 by a margin of 5.5:35 to 2.1:13. Burnside High School beat Otago BHS 2 in a high scoring contest, running out to a 10.6:66 – 5.4:34 win.

The second round saw Otago BHS 1 take revenge, upsetting Burnside High School 8.8:56 – 3.4:22. On the other field, St Bede’s College powered past Otago BHS 2 to record an 11.6:72 – 2.2:14 win.

Teachers Warwick Kain from Otago BHS and  Chris Risbridger from Burnside High School were invaluable in managing and coaching their teams. AFL New Zealand High Performance player Alex Frew managed St Bede’s College.

AFL Junior Secondary School South Island Championships Results:

SBC 5.5:35 vs OBH1 2.1:13
BHS 10.6:66 vs OBH2 5.4:34

BHS 3.4:22 vs OBH1 8.8:56
SBC 11.6:72 vs OBH2 2.2:14

Best on Grounds:

SBC- Simon Hiono
BHS- Emerson McKee
OBH1- Sam Johnson
OBH2-Ricky Jackson

Player of the tournament:

Zach McKay(SBC)