Auckland Regional Hawks Cup results

The regional Junior Hawks Cup returned for another year this week with Schools from Auckland, North Harbour, Counties Manukau and Waitakere regions being represented.

The focus now moves on to the North Island Championships which will be held at Onepoto Domain, Northcote on Sunday 15 Novemeber. For further information, please contact AFLNZ Secondary Schools manager Mick Coultard, 



Defending Counties Hawks Cup Champions Southern Cross Campus returned to Kolmar Sports Complex in Papatoetoe to defend their title against Rosehill College.

With a strong wind blowing, Southern Cross elected to kick with the wind in the first quarter in hope of starting the game strong but Rosehill College had other plans and managed to only keep them to 1 goal. In the second, Rosehill College (coached by senior student and U16 NZ Hawk rep Zeon McNabb) managed to make use of the wind and kicked 5 goals to take a surprising lead into half time.

After the break, Southern Cross clawed their way back into the game and the scores were all tied up at 3 quarter time.

Southern Cross Hawks  Cup holders.JPG
Counties Champions Southern Cross Campus

The result could have gone either way but in the end, Southern Cross kicked 2 goals in the last 2 minutes to win by 12 points and go back to back.

AFL New Zealand would like to thank the teachers in charge of the teams, Daniel King (Southern Cross) and Toni Humphries (Rosehill College).


Rosehill College vs Southern Cross Campus

Southern Cross Campus: 9.7: 61

Rosehill College: 8.1: 49


Goal Scorers:

Southern Cross Campus: Tyrone Hamilton 3, David Falanoa 2, Simon Faifili 2, Ofa Tuimana 2.

Rosehill College: Ethan Halton 4, Poutama Johnstone Mexted 2, Jarrod Hill 2.


Best Players:

Rosehill College: Poutama Johnstone Mexted

Southern Cross Campus: Tyrone Hailton

Player of the tournament: Ethan Halton (Rosehill College)


North Harbour/Auckland

On a glorious day at Onepoto Domain in Northcote. St Pauls College, Northcote College and Birkenhead College gathered for the North Harbour/Auckland Hawks Cup. The tournament played in Great Spirit with some fantastic skills on display.

Northcote College Captain Lewis Barrow-Young with the Hawks Cup

All teams had strong standout players displaying their talent but Northcote College overcame some initial hiccups to take out the tournament by utilising good defence, accurate movement of the ball and good leadership from their two national representatives Lewis Barrow Young (U16 NZ Hawks) and Jacob Tucker (U16 NZ Hawks).
Northcote will be looking to build on their victory when they play against the top AFL teams in the North Island Junior Championships, Sunday 15 November, Onepoto Domain, Northcote.

AFL New Zealand would like to thank Antonio Pilitati (Birkenhead College), Mike Jarvis (St Pauls College) and Paul Hewson (Northcote College) for organising their teams to come along.


Game 1:

St Pauls College vs Birkenhead College

St Pauls College: 7.7: 49

Birkenhead College: 3.1: 19


St Pauls College: Jaelin Murray 1, Star Toa 1, Eric Tualangi 1, Lennox Tasefa 1, Maekeli Law 1,

Birkenhead College: Owen Fuataimi, Tim Webster, Ezra Tan


Game 2:

St Pauls College vs Northcote College

Northcote College 8.4: 52

St Pauls College: 1.2: 8


Northcote College: Lewi Barrow-Young 3, Terry Taukei-Peterson 3, Jake Tucker 2

St Pauls College: Star Toa


Game 3:

Northcote College vs Birkenhead College

Northcote College: 5.6: 36

Birkenhead College: 3.5: 23


Northcote College: Lewi Barrow-Young 3, Terry Taukei-Peterson 1, Jake Tucker 1

Birkenhead College: Ezra Tan, Tim Webster, Owen Fuataimi


Best players:

Birkenhead College: Tim Webster

Northcote College: Semisi Folau.

St Pauls College: Star Toa

Player of the tournament: Terry Taukei-Peterson (Northcote College)



The Waitakere Junior Hawks Cup was hosted at Rutherford College for the first time.

Green Bay High School (2014 Runners up) returned once again to try and take out the title of Waitakere Champions. The windy conditions made for a challenging game and Green Bay saw themselves kicking into the wind in the first quarter. The boys from the bay were able to keep the score close with Rutherford missing a few opportunities kicking with the wind and unable to capitalise.

NZ Youth Player and Green Bay captain Declan Crann lead his team around the field and utilised the wind in the second quarter to go into half time with a 2 goal lead.

The game was tight going into the final quarter and Rutherford College (Coached by teacher and previous U16 NZ Hawks Assistant coach Jeff Silby) fought on strong to win the game and take out the competition for the first time.

AFL New Zealand would like to thank Rutherford College for hosting the competition along with the teachers Jeff Silby (Rutherford College) and Matt Ollerenshaw (Green Bay High School).


Green Bay High School vs Rutherford College

Green Bay High School 5.6: 36

Rutherford College 7.6: 48



Green Bay High School: Daniel Henry 2, Declan Crann 1, Brooklyn Williams 1.

Rutherford College: Levi Fifita 3, Nuiki Paniora 1, Tom Hutton 1, Keanu Hansen 1, Mayson Edaliss 1


Player of the day:

Green Bay High School: Daniel Henry

Rutherford College: Levi Fifita

Player of the tournament: Levi Boyd (Rutherford College)